2021 Al Quoz Sprint Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Al Quoz Sprint is one of the Group 1 features on Dubai World Cup night and it's one of the crowd favourites.

The field scorches the turf at Meydan over the 1000m and although the race has only been in existence since 2007, it's already carving out an impressive history.

It's an international event which is only gaining more popularity with non-UAE thoroughbreds.

Al Quoz Sprint Key Facts

DateSaturday March 21, 2021
Time2:05pm GMT
StatusGroup 1
ConditionsSet Weights
Prize Money$1 million

2021 Al Quoz Sprint Betting Tips

We will have tips for the 2021 Al Quoz Sprint available when markets are released.

2020 Al Quoz Sprint betting schedule

The Al Quoz Sprint is one of nine races scheduled for March 28, 2020.

  • Group 1 Dubai Kahayla Classic (purebred Arabians)
  • Group 1 Al Quoz Sprint
  • Group 2 Godolphin Mile
  • Group 2 Dubai Gold Cup
  • Group 2 UAE Derby
  • Group 1 Dubai Golden Shaheen
  • Group 1 Dubai Turf
  • Group 1 Dubai Sheema Classic
  • Group 1 Dubai World Cup

Al Quoz Sprint history

The Al Quoz Sprint has only been in existence since 2007, but there's some good recent history attributed to the race.

Most Dubai-based races, excluding the World Cup, have failed to attract runners from the likes of Australia, but the Al Quoz Sprint has a rich history of attracting the best on show.

Darley and Saeed bin Suroor won the first edition with Great Britain and J J The Jet Plane won in 2009 and 2011 for the local brigade.

International wins have come from South African trainer Mike de Kock, Hong Kong trainers Derek Cruz and Ricky Yiu and Australian winners with Paul Messara and Robert Heathcote.

The Australian winners (Ortensia and Buffering) have paved the way for more Australian horses to come over and contest the Al Quoz Sprint, making it a more international affair.

Some of the best jockeys in the world have won the race, including Craig Williams, Frankie Detorri and Joao Moreria.

It used to be run over 1200m before changing to 1000m in 2011, but it has since reverted back to its original distance.

Al Quoz Sprint betting guide

Shea Shea was the shortest-priced winner at 2.50 in 2013, but since then punters have had a good time finding the value runners.

Australian winners Ortensia and Buffering paid 9.00 a piece and that's great value considering their extensive Group 1 record in Australia. Amber Sky was well-found at 5.50 and boom horse Sole Power got out to 7.00 with bookmakers for the Al Quoz Sprint.

Hong Kong star Peniaphobia was the 5.50 favourite, but British punters were able to cash in with their sprinting hero.

The Right Man caused an upset at 21.00 in 2016. The son of Lope de Vega had finished eighth in the Hong Kong Sprint prior to running at Meydan and it was able to hold out local chance Ertijaal.

Al Quoz Sprint Past Winners

2019Blue Point
2018Jungle Cat
2017The Right Man
2015Sole Power
2014Amber Sky
2013Shea Shea
2011J J The Jet Plane
2010Joy And Fun
2009J J The Jet Plane
2008Instant Recall
2007Great Britain