• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Durban July Handicap

2020 Durban July Dates and Schedule – South Africa’s premier handicap to be run on July 25th

Last updated: 09 Jul 2020
Jon Vine 09 Jul 2020
Share this article
Or copy link
  • We take a look at the full dates and schedule for the 2020 Durban July meeting
  • This year's Durban July card has been pushed back to Saturday 25th July
  • Two Grade One races headline the action
  • Do It Again bids to become the first three-time winner of the Durban July
durban july
Do It Again wins back-to-back Durban July Handicaps in 2019. (Getty)

We bring you the new dates for the rescheduled Durban July dates, and also the full Durban July schedule with what races punters can enjoy at Greyville on Saturday 25th July.

The Durban July is the biggest and most important South African horse racing meeting. Not only is the on-track action of the highest calibre and millions of rand in prize money is handed out, but it’s also a wonderful social event, bringing together racing fans from all walks of life.

The global Covid-19 pandemic, which has caused Havok with sporting schedules around the world, has also disrupted the racing season in South Africa. 

The Durban July is usually staged during the first week of July. However, in 2020, the meeting has been pushed back to the final Saturday of the month, July 25th, and all of the races will take place behind closed doors.

2020 Durban July Schedule

Time (UK Time)
11:35amPinnacle Stakes 1000m (Poly)
12:10pmKZN Yearling Sales Million 1300m (Turf)
12:45pmCampanajo 2200 2200m (Turf)
1:20pmDSTV Gold Vase 3000m (Turf)
1:55pm Golden Slipper 1400m (Turf)
2:30pmDurban Golden Horseshoe 1400m (Turf)
3:10pmVodacom Durban July 2200m (Turf) (Grade One Handicap)
3:45pmJonsson Workwear Garden Province Stakes 1600m (Turf) (Grade One)
4:20pmThukela Handicap 1600m (Turf)
4:55pmEthekwini Sprint 1200m (Poly)

Racing fans watching on from home will have ten excellent races to take in on Durban July day. The first pattern race on the card is the Grade Three Campanajo 2200, before the stayers take centre-stage in the 15-furlong Gold Vase.

The Grade Two Golden Slipper then leads into the main event, and namesake race of the entire meeting, the Durban July Handicap. Prize money may be a little depleted in 2020, but this year’s Durban July has still attracted a top-quality list of entries. All eyes will be on Do It Again, who will bid to become the first three-time winner of the Durban July, having claimed victory in 2018 and ’19.

Once the winner of the 2020 Durban July has finished drinking in the adulation in the winners’ enclosure, fillies and mares get their chance to shine in the Grade One Garden Province Stakes. The Durban July schedule is then rounded off by the Thukela Handicap and the Ethekwini Sprint.

2020 Durban July Handicap Key Facts

Race TitleVodacom Durban July
2020 DateSaturday, 25th July 2020
Prize Money1,500,000R
StatusGrade One
Race TypeHandicap
Distance2200m (11f)

2020 Durban July Odds

Rainbow Bridge5.5
Do It Again7.5
Bunker Hunt8.5
Got The Green Light8.5

*Odds taken from sportingbet.co.za on 9/7/20*

Durban July FAQs

When is the Durban July?

The 2020 Durban July Handicap will take place on Saturday 25th July.

Who is the favourite for the Durban July?

Belgarion impressed when winning the World Sports Betting 1900 in June, and he heads SportingBet's market for the 2020 Durban July Handicap.

Who won the Durban July?

In 2019, Do It Again became the fifth horse to win the Durban July twice, successfully defending the crown he won in 2018.

Where can I bet on the 2020 Durban July?

SportingBet.co.za is the best place to bet on the Durban July, and all South African racing.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More