2 Showlhs N

2023 Nunthorpe Stakes Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Nunthorpe Stakes is run on the third day of the Ebor Festival and is one of the rare races to be open to two-year-old's and upwards.

Run for a quality stake of £350,000, the feature sprint at York has been won by many of Europe's best sprinters and there has also been some International success.

Popular with bettors, the Nunthorpe Stakes is one of the must-see races during the Ebor Festival and it also attracts plenty of attention with bookmakers.

Nunthorp Stakes Key Facts

DateFriday 25th August, 2023
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money£350,000

2022 Nunthorpe Stakes Day Card

1:55pm Sky Bet Handicap (Class 2) 1m4f
2:25pm Weatherbys Hamilton Lonsdale Cup Stakes (Group 2) 2m½f
3:00pm Gimcrack Stakes (Group 2) 6f
3:35pm Nunthorpe Stakes (Group 1) 5f
4:15pm Maiden Stakes (Class 2) 7f
4:50pm Nationwide Handicap (Class 2) 1m

2022 Nunthorpe Stakes Odds

No odds are currently available for the 2022 Nunthorpe Stakes.

2022 Nunthorpe Stakes Tips

Our preview for the 2022 Nunthorpe Stakes will go live when the final field and draw has been confirmed.

2021 Nunthorpe Stakes Result

1st Highfield Princess 5/1
2nd The Platinum Queen 9/2
3rd Emaraaty Ana 12/1

Nunthorpe Stakes History

The Nunthorpe Stakes started out as a low-graded race in 1903 but has since become one of the premier sprint races in Europe.

The first two-year-old to take out the race was High Treason in 1953 and the addition of the juveniles in the Nunthorpe Stakes makes it a truly unique race.

The winner gets an automatic entry into the Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint, which makes it even more appealing to international runners.

Coolmore has since taken over sponsorship and that shows just how important the Nunthorpe Stakes has become on the global scale.

Two runners (Tag End and Sharpo) have won the race and incredible three consecutive times and jockey Lester Piggott added to his champion career with seven victories.

The race is attractive to punters of all levels due to the disparity of winning owners. The big studs haven't dominated the Nunthorpe Stakes and that always adds some more intrigue.

Names such as Mecca's Angel, Sole Power and Jwala have won in recent history and Australian raider Ortensia was able to score another European sprinting win in 2012.

Sole Power was a winner in 2010 at incredible odds of 100/1, which remains the biggest upset in the race's history.

Marsha struck a blow for the mares when she beat the boys in 2017. She was followed into the winners' enclosure by Alpha Delphini, who went off as a 50/1 shot before holding on to win.

Having been beaten in the previous two runnings of the Nunthorpe, Battaash finally conquered his rivals at York, smashing the course record set by the great Dayjur in 1990. Battaash then retained his title with a narrow victory in the 2020 Nunthorpe Stakes.

With Battaash retired, Tim Easterby's filly Winter Power powered to an impressive victory in the 2021 Nunthorpe Stakes. Highfield Princess then capped her incredible rise to the top of the sprinting ranks by winning the 2022 Nunthorpe.

Nunthorpe Stakes Betting Guide

There has been a good mix of favourites and long-odds chances in recent history, which always makes for an exciting betting affair.

Marsha was the 2017 winner at odds of 8/1 when upsetting odds-on favourite Lady Aurelia. 

Mecca's Angel won back-to-back in 2015 and 2016 yet paid 9/2 in 2016 after winning at odds of 15/2 prior to that.

Sole Power was heavily backed when winning in 2014 at odds of 11/4, but bookmakers were still generous in the odds on offer.

The best aspect of the Nunthrope Stakes is the lack of short-priced favourites, giving punters the best possible chance of returning a profit.

Shea Shea and Sole Power were upset in 2013 when four-year-old Jwala scored at 40/1. 

Australian-trained Ortensia had plenty of support in 2012 after winning multiple times in Europe that season. The Paul Messara-trained sprinter was the joint favourite at 7/2 and it scored a commanding win.

Also featuring in that field was Sole Power, which won in 2014 and also in 2010, where it won at odds of 100/1.

The Nunthorpe Stakes is tough to predict but there's great value on offer and punters are never disappointed with the odds on offer.

Nunthorpe Stakes Winners

Race Winner
2022Highfield Princess
2021Winter Power
2019 Battaash
2018Alpha Delphini
2016Mecca's Angel
2015Mecca's Angel
2014Sole Power
2011Margot Did
2010Sole Power
2007Kingsgate Native
2005La Cucaracha
2004Bahamian Pirate
2003Oassi Dream
2000Nuclear Debate
1997Coastal Bluff/Ya Malak
1995So Factual
1992Lyric Fantasy
1991Shiekh Albadou
1989Cadeaux Genereux
1988Handsome Sailor

2023 Nunthorpe Stakes FAQs

When is the Nunthorpe Stakes?

The 2023 Nunthorpe Stakes will be run at York on Friday 25th August.

Where is the Nunthorpe Stakes run?

The Nunthorpe Stakes is run at York, during the popular Ebor Festival.

Who won the Nunthorpe?

Highfield Princess then capped her incredible rise to the top of the sprinting ranks by winning the 2022 Nunthorpe.

Where can I watch the Nunthorpe Stakes?

The 2023 Nunthorpe Stakes will be shown live on ITV Racing. Visit our Live Streaming page if you want to watch the race via your mobile or tablet.

How long is the Nunthorpe?

The Nunthorpe Stakes is run over five furlongs, the minimum distance that flat races are run over in England.