Coral Eclipse Stakes Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Eclipse Stakes, also known as the Coral-Eclipse, always boasts one of the more impressive betting fields of the year. 

Held at Sandown Park in July, the Eclipse Stakes features a long list of champion winners and it's held in high regard.

Some of the best middle-distance thoroughbreds have won the Eclipse Stakes and this year's field is no different.

Coral Eclipse Stakes Key Facts

DateSaturday July 5, 2020
TrackSandown Park
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money£500,000

Coral Eclipse Stakes betting card 2020

Race No.
Race Name
1Handicap Stakes
2Coral Charge
3Coral Challenge
4Coral Distaff
5Eclipse Stakes
6Coral Marathon
7Coral App Handicap Stakes

2020 Coral Eclipse Stakes Betting Tips & Predictions

Coral Eclipse Stakes history

The Eclipse Stakes was named in honour of 18th Century racehorse Eclipse. Established in 1886, the Eclipse Stakes was the richest race in Britain with a prize pool of £10,000 and now boasts an impressive stake of £500,000.

It's best known to attract the Classic horses which have competed in the likes of the Derby and the Royal Ascot Festival, with many contenders coming through the Prince Of Wales's Stakes and the Queen Anne Stakes.

It has been sponsored by Coral Bookmakers since 1976 and it can be referred to as the Coral-Eclipse.

Lester Piggott has the record for most wins as a jockey with seven. His first win came in 1951 with Mystery IX and his final win came in 1977 with Artaius. Sir Michael Stoute has six training wins in the Eclipse Stakes with his most recent win coming in 2017 with Ulysses and he continues to line up quality types in the Sandown Park feature.

Sir Michael Stoute has also trained the likes of Notnowcato Opera House and Medician, which are just a few of his champion winners of the Eclipse Stakes.
The stallion-making race has spawned the likes of So You Think, Sea The Stars and Oratorio, which all went on to successful careers at stud.

Coral Eclipse Stakes betting guide

The Eclipse Stakes is popular with punters because there's rarely an upset winner, with the last double-figure odds winner coming in 2014 with Mukhadram (14/1). The only double-figure winner prior to that came in 2005 when the Aidan O'Brien-trained Oratorio paid 12/1.

Ouija Board was the beaten 2/1 favourite in 2006, but winner David Junior had support at 9/4 to continue the good run of well-supported runners in the Eclipse Stakes. Notnowcato won at odds of 7/1 in 2007 when upsetting Authorized (4/7), but punters were around the mark again.

Favourites to win since 2007 have included Sea The Stars (4/7), Twice Over (13/8), So You Think (4/6), Al Kazeem (15/8) and Golden Horn (4/9). The Eclipse Stakes is a race for the favourites and the upset winners in the past have all attract attention at each way odds.

Coral Eclipse Stakes betting trends

  • Nine of the last 12 winners were aged four or five and 10 of the last 12 winners were in the top three in betting.
  • Only four of the last 12 winners won their lead-up race to the Eclipse Stakes and only four placed in their previous run, so form isn't necessary.
  • 10 of those 12 winners had at least seven flat runs and eight winners had a rating of 122 or higher.
  • Nine winners had at least one Group 1 victory prior to running and nine of the last 12 winners had at least two runs that season.

Coral Eclipse Stakes winners list

Eclipse Stakes winner
2018Roaring Lion
2015Golden Horn
2013Al Kazeem
2011So You Think
2010Twice Over
2009Sea The Stars
2008Mount Nelson
2006David Junior
2004Refuse to Bend
2002Hawk Wing
2000Giant's Causeway
1999Compton Admiral
1993Opera House
1991Environment Friend