2 Showlhs N

2023 Epsom Derby Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Epsom Derby is one of the most historic sporting events in the world, having first been run at the famous Epsom Downs back in 1780.

The Derby remains as popular as ever, with millions of punters clamouring to place their bets when the Derby rolls around every year.

Usually staged at the end of June, the 2020 renewal of the Epsom Derby will be run on Saturday 4th June.

Epsom Derby Key Facts

DateSaturday, June 3rd, 2023
TrackEpsom Downs
Distance1m 4f
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money£1.625 million

Epsom Derby Day Card

Race No.
Race Name
1Woodcote Stakes 6f
2Surrey Stakes (Listed) 7f
3Investec Handicap 1m2f
4Investec Oaks (Group 1) 1m4f
5Princess Elizabeth Stakes (Group 3) 1m 1/2 f
6Investec Derby (Group 1) 1m4f
7Zebra Handicap 7f

2023 Epsom Derby Odds

No markets are currently open for the 2021 Epsom Derby.

2023 Epsom Derby Tips

When it starts to become clear which colts will be running in this fabled Classic, our guide to the 2021 Epsom Derby will be published on the website.

2022 Epsom Derby Result

1stDesert Crown13/8f
2ndHoo Ya Mal150/1

Epsom Derby History

Named in honour of the party host, 12th Earl of Derby, the race was first run in 1780. The first Epsom Derby was won by Diomed, of which the Diomed Stakes takes its name from.

The Derby idea inspired the likes of the Kentucky Derby, the Irish Derby and the French Derby, known as the Prix du Jockey Club.

The Derby is the middle leg of the fabled Triple Crown. Any colt who can with the 2000 Guineas, the Derby and the St Leger will be called a Triple Crown winner. 

West Australia was the first horse to win the Triple Crown in 1853. 14 horses have gone on to repeat that incredible feat since, with the most recent Triple Crown winner being Nijinsky in 1970.

In the latter half of the 20th century, Derby Day became more and more popular with the working class. The Derby was then moved to a Saturday, in order to appeal to it's new demographic.

During World War Two, the Derby was run at Newmarket for six years. Dante won the final running of the Derby at Newmarket in 1945.

Champion jockey, Lester Piggott scored nine wins in the Epsom Derby. His most memorable win came aboard the great Nijinsky.

The quickest time ever recorded in the Derby at Epsom was recorded by Workforce, who stopped the clock in 2:31 under Ryan Moore for Sir Michael Stoute in 2010.

Three trainers have won the Derby on seven occasions. Robert Robson, John Porter and Fred Darling are all three-time winners respectively.

The ownership pairing of Sue Magnier and Michael Tabor, which run Coolmore Stud, have owned seven winners and it's a great list of champion winners and future stallions.

Shergar holds the record for length of winning margin. He scored by 10 lengths in 1981 and never gave his opposition a chance.

Galileo, High Chaparral and Pour Moi all became champion stallions and winning the Derby is a significant black type achievement.

Legendary horses like Camelot, New Approach, Motivator and Sea The Stars all won the Epsom Derby after the turn of the millennium.

Wings Of Eagles pulled off an upset in 2017, beating Cliffs Of Moher and Cracksman, despite carrying lengthy odds of 40/1 to post. In a thrilling finish to the 2019 race, Anthony Van Dyck prevailed ahead of Madhmoon and three of his Ballydoyle stablemates.

There was a huge shock in the 2020 Epsom Derby, as 25/1 outsider Serpentine made all to win for Aidan O'Brien, with 50/1 and 66/1 chances filling the other two places.

There was another surprise in 2021, as 16/1 shot Adayar beat 50/1 outsider Mojo Star to hand Charlie Appleby and Godolphin their second Derby win, following Masar's triumph in 2018.

Sir Michael Stoute ended his ten-year wait for another Derby win when hot favourite, Desert Crown stormed to victory in 2022.

Epsom Derby Betting Guide

Favourites have a decent record in the recent history of the Epsom Derby. 

Camelot is the shortest price winner, having gone off at 1/8. Australia, Authorized, Sea The Stars and Galileo all carried odds of less than 11/4 to post.

Having dominated for a number of years, favourites have found themselves luckless in the last couple of editions of the Derby. 

40/1 outsider, Wings Of Eagles was followed into the winners' enclosure by Masar, who carried odds of 16/1 to victory. 

They are the only winners this century to have carried double-figure prices to post, though. So siding against the fancied horses isn't usually the way to go.

The draw can be important in the Derby. Stall one is known as the "coffin stall", and it's accounted for fewer Derby winners than any other stall. Being drawn high is favoured.

Epsom Derby Lead-Up Races

Many people often see the 2000 Guineas, despite being run over a mile, as the best trial for the Derby.

Sandown and Lingfield hold their own Classic Trials races. Chester have two Derby Trials, the Dee Stakes and the Chester Vase.

The Craven Stakes at Newmarket is often used as a Derby Trial. As is the Dante Stakes, run at York between the Guineas and the Derby.

Only two horses - Lammtarra and Shaamit - have won the Derby without some sort of warm-up race that season.

Epsom Derby Track Report

Many runners find it tough to handle the conditions at Epsom Downs.

The Epsom track is a horse shoe shape and it's very undulating. One of the reasons why international thoroughbreds don't come over to compete is because the tracks are so vastly different.

Seeing out the Derby distance is never easy for the three-year-olds so having track and distance experience can be key.

2023 Epsom Derby FAQs

When is the Derby?

In 2023, the Epsom Derby will take place at 4:55pm on Saturday, 3rd June.

Where is the Derby run?

The Derby has been held at Epsom Downs racecourse, Surrey.

Who won the Epsom Derby?

Sir Michael Stoute's Desert Crown won the 2021 Epsom Derby.

How long is the Derby?

The Epsom Derby is 1m 4f in length, or 12 furlongs.

Where can I watch the 2023 Epsom Derby?

The Derby will be shown live on ITV Racing and RacingTV. Visit our Live Streaming page to see how you can stream the race via your mobile or tablet.