• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Epsom Derby Festival
  • Epsom Derby

When is the 2022 Epsom Derby?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 Epsom Derby
  • The Epsom Derby takes place at Epsom on Saturday 4th June in 2022
Adam Kirby on Adayar wins the Derby on the second day of the Epsom Derby Festival. (Getty)
Freetips staff 22 Jun 2021
Share this article
success image

When is the 2022 Epsom Derby?

The Epsom Derby takes place on Saturday 4th June in 2022. This Classic will be run at Epsom at 4:30pm and will be shown live on ITV Racing.

Who won the last Epsom Derby?

16/1 shot Adayar handed Godolphin their second Epsom Derby victory in 2020, as he powered home on the inside rail to for jockey Adam Kirby and trainer Charlie Appleby.

What is the Epsom Derby?

The Epsom Derby is one of the most famous and historic sporting events in the world, having first been run in the 1780s. This Group One is also one of the five Classic races in British flat racing. Any colt who can win the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in the same season will be awarded the Triple Crown.

Where is the Epsom Derby run?

The Epsom Derby is run at Epsom racecourse, situated in Surrey, England. 

Which horses will run in the Epsom Derby?

Only the best three-year-old colts will run in the Epsom Derby. Horses who impress in key trials races like the Chester Vase, the Lingfield Trial and the Dante Stakes will take part in the Derby. Another commonly-used stepping stone for the Derby is the 2000 Guineas.

Where can I watch the 2022 Epsom Derby?

The 2022 Epsom Derby will be shown live on ITV and RacingTV. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Epsom Derby Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 Epsom Derby live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Epsom Derby Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Epsom Derby History

Named in honour of the party host, 12th Earl of Derby, the race was first run in 1780. The first Epsom Derby was won by Diomed, of which the Diomed Stakes takes its name from.

The Derby idea inspired the likes of the Kentucky Derby, the Irish Derby and the French Derby, known as the Prix du Jockey Club.

The Derby is the middle leg of the fabled Triple Crown. Any colt who can with the 2000 Guineas, the Derby and the St Leger will be called a Triple Crown winner. 

West Australia was the first horse to win the Triple Crown in 1853. 14 horses have gone on to repeat that incredible feat since, with the most recent Triple Crown winner being Nijinsky in 1970.

In the latter half of the 20th century, Derby Day became more and more popular with the working class. The Derby was then moved to a Saturday, in order to appeal to it's new demographic.

During World War Two, the Derby was run at Newmarket for six years. Dante won the final running of the Derby at Newmarket in 1945.

Champion jockey, Lester Piggott scored nine wins in the Epsom Derby. His most memorable win came aboard the great Nijinsky.

The quickest time ever recorded in the Derby at Epsom was recorded by Workforce, who stopped the clock in 2:31 under Ryan Moore for Sir Michael Stoute in 2010.

Three trainers have won the Derby on seven occasions. Robert Robson, John Porter and Fred Darling are all three-time winners respectively.

The ownership pairing of Sue Magnier and Michael Tabor, which run Coolmore Stud, have owned seven winners and it's a great list of champion winners and future stallions.

Shergar holds the record for length of winning margin. He scored by 10 lengths in 1981 and never gave his opposition a chance.

Galileo, High Chaparral and Pour Moi all became champion stallions and winning the Derby is a significant black type achievement.

Legendary horses like Camelot, New Approach, Motivator and Sea The Stars all won the Epsom Derby after the turn of the millennium.

Wings Of Eagles pulled off an upset in 2017, beating Cliffs Of Moher and Cracksman, despite carrying lengthy odds of 40/1 to post.

In a thrilling finish to the 2019 race, Anthony Van Dyck prevailed ahead of Madhmoon and three of his Ballydoyle stablemates.

There was a huge shock in the 2020 Epsom Derby, as 25/1 outsider Serpentine made all to win for Aidan O'Brien, with 50/1 and 66/1 chances filling the other two places.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

07 August 2021

14 August 2021

  • Joshua Buatsi vs Ricards Bolotniks Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

29 August 2021

25 September 2021

30 October 2021

31 December 2021

28 May 2022