2020 Chairman's Sprint Prize Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Chairman's Sprint Prize is the second Group 1 featured on Sha Tin's premier spring racing card in April.

One of the biggest betting races of the year, the Chairman's Sprint Prize continues to create huge turnover on track and also with online bookmakers.

The world's best sprinters will be on show at Sha Tin again this year.

Chairman's Sprint Prize Key Facts

DateSunday April 27, 2020
TrackSha Tin
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeHandicap
Prize money$1.4 million

Chairman's Sprint Prize betting card

There are 10 races on the Sha Tin card, which includes the Champions Mile and the QEII Cup.

Race No.
Race Name
1Bering Sea Handicap
2Southern Ocean Handicap
3Arctic Sea Handicap
4South China Sea Handicap
5Caribbean Sea Handicap
6Pacific Ocean Handicap
7Champions Mile
8Chairman's Sprint Prize
10Atlantic Ocean Handicap

Chairman's Sprint Prize betting selections & 2019 tips

We will have expert tips for the Chairman's Sprint Prize available when the final-field markets are released by bookmakers.

Most bookmakers offer commingled pools to match the big markets offered in Hong Kong, which results in big dividends.

Chairman's Sprint Prize history

The Sha Tin Racecourse was opened in 1978 and the Chairman's Sprint Prize followed a year later.

It was first run as the Hong Kong Sprint Championship, but it was changed in 2001 when the prize money was increased to HK$4.5 million.

Since that time the prize money has significantly increased and it became a Group 1 in 1994 when it was featured in the Champion Sprint Series.

It was also added to the Global Sprint Challenge to make way for the discontinued KrisFlyer International Sprint.

It's currently ranked equal 49th in the World's Top 100 Group 1 races.

Chairman's Sprint Prize betting guide

13 favourites have won since 1995 and that's a great record for favourites' punters.

Some of those winners have been at extremely short odds, including Mr Vitality ($1.30), Fair King Prawn ($1.50) and Silent Witness, which paid money back on the tote.

There have also been some outsiders get up at nice odds. Gold-Fun won at $8 in 2015 and Dim Sum won its second Chairman's Prize in 2011 at odds of $14.

Dim Sum also won in 2009 and set the record for highest odds paid by a winner when returning $51. The John Moore-trained runner was certainly one for the bookies.

Strathmore finished third in 2016 and returned odds of $99. It wasn't fancied behind the likes of Chautauqua and Lucky Bubbles, but punters got great place value.

The 2016 result also holds the record for biggest trifecta, first four and quartet dividend.

Trainer Tony Cruz has had over 30 starts in the race for two wins and three placings. His wins came with Silent Witness in 2004 and 2005.

The best barrier draw is barrier eight. A lucky number among Hong Kong punters, barrier eight has returned four winners and five placings.

The next best barrier draws are 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 10 and 11.

Chairman's Sprint Prize facts

Chautauqua was the first international winner of the Chairman's Sprint Prize when winning in 2016 for Team Hawkes.

Quicken Away is the only horse to have won three times (1989, 1990 and 1991).

The last three-year-old to win was Fairy King Prawn in 1999 before it would later run second behind Sunline in the Hong Kong Mile.

Only two four-year-olds have won in the last 16 years (Sacred Kingdom and Silent Witness).

Australian jockey Brett Prebble has won on four occasions, most recently scoring consecutive wins aboard Lucky Nine in 2013-2014, however Basil Marcus won five times.

John Moore is the most successful active trainer in this race, having notched four wins and 16 placings from 58 runners since 1986.

Chairman's Sprint Prize past winners

2019Beat The Clock
2017Lucky Bubbles
2014Lucky Nine
2013Lucky Nine
2012Joy And Fun
2011Dim Sum
2010Sacred Kingdom
2009Dim Sum
2008Sacred Kingdom
2007Absolute Champion
2006Billet Express
2005Silent Witness
2004Silent Witness
2003Grand Delight
2002Charming City
2001Fairy King Prawn