2020 Champions Mile Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Hong Kong Champions Mile is the premier mile race in spring and it offers the Hong Kong Mile runners another chance at Group 1 success.

Run since 2001, the Champions Mile has been won mostly by Hong Kong-trained runners, but there have been two international winners since 2014 and it's becoming a more international event.

Champions Mile Key Facts

DateSunday April 27, 2020
TrackSha Tin
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeHandicap
Prize money$1.6 million

Champions Mile betting card 2020

The Champions Mile and the Chairman's Sprint Prize are held on the same day at Sha Tin, which makes for an exciting affair in late April.

Race No.
Race Name
1Bering Sea Handicap
2Southern Ocean Handicap
3Arctic Ocean Handicap
4South China Sea Handicap
5Caribbean Sea Handicap
6Pacific Ocean Handicap
7Champions Mile
8Chairman's Sprint Prize
10Atlantic Ocean Handicap

Champions Mile betting selections & 2020 tips

We will have expert tips for the Champions Mile available when the final-field markets are released by bookmakers.

Most bookmakers offer commingled pools to match the big markets offered in Hong Kong, which results in big dividends.

Champions Mile history

The Champions Mile was first run in 2001 and was only open to Hong Kong-trained thoroughbreds.

It was opened for the internationals in 2005, but only locally-trained horses won up until South African-trained Variety Club won in 2014.

Given a Group 1 status in 2007, the Champions Mile has since been won by Hong Kong's best sprinters and it gives the milers something to chase in the spring.

It's a part of the Asian Mile Challenge, which includes the Dubai Duty Free Stakes in Dubai and the Yasuda Kinen in Japan.

The Japanese had success in the Champions Mile with Maurice in 2016. 

Local trainer John Moore has dominated the race with six winners (Able One x2, Xtension x2, Dan Excel and Able Friend).

Jockeys from all around the world have scored success with Brett Prebble, Darren Beadman and James McDonald winning for Australasia. 

Joao Moreira won back-to-back titles in 2015/2016 and Frenchmen Gerald Mosse and Olivier Doleuze have also won.

Bullish Luck won in 2005 before winning again in 2006, but it's first victory was more historic. It was the first horse to defeat Silent Witness, which had won 17 straight races, but was upset by its stablemate.

Champions Mile betting guide

2017 resulted in an upset by Contentment, which returned 25/1 with bookmakers.

The money was with Rapper Dragon at 2/5, but unfortunately the promising four-year-old champion was fatally injured during the run.

Punters were on the money in 2016 when Japanese entrant Maurice won at 23/20. The Noriyuki Hori-trained champion had the best form coming into the race and punters were happy to see the two-length victory.

Able Friend was an even shorter favourite in 2015 when winning by 1.25 lengths. The John Moore-trained runner scored as the $1.25 favourite, but it had to defeat only five other runners in the small field.

Able Friend was upset in the 2014 edition by $12.60 chance Variety Choice. Able Friend was the $1.70 favourite, but was no match for the South African which scored by four lengths.

It's not typically a favourites race and some short-priced commodities have been beaten. Silent Witness was the most famous runner to get pipped as the punters' elect.

The Hong Kong champion was paying $1.20 when being beaten by Bullish Luck in 2005 and it would again be defeated in 2006 as the 6/4 favourite.

Champions Mile facts

Over 30 overseas horses from eight countries have contested the Champions Mile. Runners from Australia, France, UK, Japan, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa and UAE have taken part.

Maurice was the first horse to win three Hong Kong-based races (Champions Mile, Hong Kong Cup, Hong Kong Mile).

Only four favourites have won the race in the last 16 years. 

Douglas Whyte has ridden in the Champions Mile on 14 occasions, but is yet to win.

Three Champions Mile winners have come out of the Dubai World Cup meeting. Variety Club, Xtension and Bullish Luck all raced at Meydan prior to winning at Sha Tin with Variety Club the only runner bringing in winning form.

Australian colt Casino Prince is the only three-year-old to have contested the race since 2005. It finished last of nine runners in 2007.

Past Champions Mile winners

2019Beauty Generation
2018Beauty Generation
2015Able Friend
2014Variety Club
2013Dan Excel
2010Able One
2009Sight Winner
2008Good Ba Ba
2007Able One
2006Bullish Luck
2005Bullish Luck
2003Electronic Unicorn
2002Jeune King Prawn
2001Red Pepper