2020 Hong Kong Mile Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Hong Kong Mile is one of four Group 1 races at the International Meeting in December.

Held at Sha Tin, the 1600m co-feature has attracted some of the best milers from around the world in years gone by, including the likes of Maurice, Sunline and Good Ba Ba, who won it on three consecutive occasions.

It’s one of the biggest betting races in Hong Kong and we have the history, betting guide and past winners available.

Hong Kong Mile Key Facts

DateSaturday 5th December, 2020
TrackSha Tin
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights
Prize MoneyHK$23 million

Hong Kong Mile betting card 2020

The four Group 1 races dominate the card at Sha Tin.

Race 1: Fantastic Light Handicap
Race 2: Able Friend Handicap
Race 3: Flying Dancer Handicap
Race 4: Group 1 Hong Kong Vase
Race 5: Group 1 Hong Kong Sprint
Race 6: Lord Kanaloa Handicap
Race 7: Group 1 Hong Kong Mile
Race 8: Group 1 Hong Kong Cup
Race 9: Jim And Tonic Handicap
Race 10: Maurice Handicap

2020 Hong Kong Mile betting selections & tips

Hong Kong Mile history

The Hong Kong Mile was first run in 1991 but it wasn’t always the best-rated mile in Hong Kong.

It was then known as the International Bowl and was originally run at 1400m but the change in conditions was brought about in 1999 when it was granted Group 1 status.

That status resulted in an immediate surge in popularity. Docksider won in 1999 before New Zealand champion Sunline came over in 2000 and denied a strong local field of contenders, including Fairy King Prawn.

It was one of the best editions of the Hong Kong Mile and it opened the doors for other overseas raiders to come over and try their hand at the Hong Kong riches.

Since Sunline’s win in 2000, the likes of Saeed Bin Suroor and a strong Japanese contingent have come over for big success.

Good Ba Ba created history in 2009 when becoming the first horse to win three consecutive Hong Kong Miles and not since Monopolize in 1996 had any horse won back-to-back.

No horse since Good Ba Ba has won more than one Hong Kong Mile, showing just how tough the feat was to accomplish.

Hong Kong Mile betting guide

The first winner of the Hong Kong Mile was three-year-old Additional Risk, but there has been only one three-year-old to win since (Lucky Owners, 2003).

The oldest winner was the mighty Able One in 2011 when winning as a nine-year-old with Jeff Lloyd in the saddle. Trainer John Moore has since won the Hong Kong Mile on two more occasions with Able Friend and Beauty Generation.

Most of the winners in recent history have either been four of five years of age. The five-year-old runners scored wins in 2010, 2014, 2016 and 2017. Being that age gives them time to get over a lengthy four-year-old campaign and has them ready to fire at the mile.

Australian jockeys have a good record in the HK Mile. Past winners have included Greg Childs, Darren Beadman, Jeff Lloyd and Zac Purton, who has won twice in recent history. The French riders also have an impeccable record with Olivier Doleuze and Gerald Mosse having great success.

There is typically a well-backed commodity but punters can find value. Beauty Generation won at odds of 9.00 in 2017 and it has been a good race for punters.

Hong Kong Mile winners

2018Beauty Generation
2017Beauty Generation
2016Beauty Only
2014Able Friend
2013Glorious Days
2012Ambitious Dragon
2011Able One
2010Beauty Flash
2009Good Ba Ba
2008Good Ba Ba
2007Good Ba Ba
2006The Duke
2005Hat Trick
2003Lucky Owners
2002Olympic Express
2001Eishin Preston
1998Jim And Tonic
1997Catalan Opening
1994Soviet Line
1993Winning Partners
1992Glen Kate
1991Additional Risk