2020 Hong Kong Sprint Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Hong Kong Sprint is one of four Group 1 races at the International Meeting in December and is one of the most exciting.

Some of the world’s best sprinters have contested and won the HK Sprint, including Hong Kong champion Silent Witness and Japanese star Lord Kanaloa.

Run over 1200m, it’s a fast-paced race which is the final leg of the Global Sprint Challenge and what a race to end the challenge on.

Hong King Sprint Key Facts

DateSaturday December 5, 2020
TrackSha Tin
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights
Prize MoneyHK$18.5 million

Hong Kong Sprint betting card 2020

The four Group 1 races dominate the card at Sha Tin, which includes a full 10-race meeting.

Race 1: Fantastic Light Handicap
Race 2: Able Friend Handicap
Race 3: Flying Dancer Handicap
Race 4: Group 1 Hong Kong Vase
Race 5: Group 1 Hong Kong Sprint
Race 6: Lord Kanaloa Handicap
Race 7: Group 1 Hong Kong Mile
Race 8: Group 1 Hong Kong Cup
Race 9: Jim And Tonic Handicap
Race 10: Maurice Handicap

2020 Hong Kong Sprint betting selections & tips

Hong Kong Sprint history

The first running of the Hong Kong Sprint was in 1999 when the HK International Races concept was first put into motion.

Run over 1000m for the first seven races from 1999-2005, the Sprint was taken out by the likes of Fairy King Prawn, which would run second behind Sunline in the Hong Kong Mile a year later, Falvelon – a two-time winner – and also Silent Witness.

The Hong Kong champion went on a lengthy winning streak and although his career disappointed once that was broken, he was a pioneer for the Hong Kong Sprint.

It changed to 1200m in 2006 and that opened the door for the more international breed of sprinters. Sacred Kingdom was a popular winner in 2007 and would again win in 2009, despite running one of the slowest times in the history of the race (1:09.16).

Japanese star Lord Kanaloa, who now has a race named in his honour on the HKIR meeting, was the third runner to win back-to-back HK Sprints in 2013.

Aerovelocity would add his name to that list when winning in 2014 and 2016. Trained by Paul O’Sullivan, who came over from New Zealand to become a private trainer, the gelding won as an eight-year-old in 2016 and he was the oldest winner in history.

Hong Kong Sprint betting guide

Repeat winners are common in the Hong Kong Sprint so punters should look for the previous year’s winner when making their selections.

It’s also wise to stay away from the three-year-old runners. There has been no three-year-old winner of the Hong Kong Sprint and we could put that down to the lack of quality juvenile sprinting races in Hong Kong.

There have been seven four-year-old winners, eight five-year-old winners and three six-year-old winners. They have all been well-prepared for the race, with the likes of the Chairman’s Sprint Prize getting them in fit order for later in the season.

The Australian riders have dominated the Hong Kong Sprint in winning nine of the 19 races. Featured on the list is Damien Oliver, Darren Beadman, Brett Prebble, Nash Rawiller and Zac Purton. Punters should look at Prebble and Purton as they are both currently riding in Hong Kong.

Good each-way prices can be found when betting the Hong Kong Sprint. The luck factor can play into sprint races and that often creates an open market.

Hong Kong Sprint winners

2018Mr Stunning
2017Mr Stunning
2013Lord Kanaloa
2012Lord Kanaloa
2011Lucky Nine
2010J J The Jet Plane
2009Sacred Kingdom
2007Sacred Kingdom
2006Absolute Champion
2005Natural Blitz
2004Silent Witness
2003Silent Witness
2002All Thrills Too
1999Fairy King Prawn