2020 QEII Cup Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Hong Kong QEII Cup is the richest race on the spring card at Sha Tin, which also features the Chairman's Sprint Prize and the Champions Mile.

Ranked ninth in the World's Top Group 1 races, the QEII Cup gives punters a chance to see not only Hong Kong's best middle-distance thoroughbreds, but some of the world's best.

QEII Cup Key Facts

DateSunday April 27, 2020
TrackSha Tin
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeHandicap
Prize money$2.6 million

QEII Cup 2020 betting card

There are 10 races on the Sha Tin card, which includes the Champions Mile and Chairman's Sprint Prize.

The QEII Cup was only added in 2018 to make it three Group 1 races on the premier card at Sha Tin.

Race No.
Race Name
1Bering Sea Handicap
2Southern Ocean Handicap
3Arctic Ocean Handicap
4South China Sea Handicap
5Caribbean Sea Handicap
6Pacific Ocean Handicap
7Champions Mile
8Chairman's Sprint Prize
10Indian Ocean Handicap

QEII Cup betting selections & 2020 tips

We will have expert tips for the QEII Cup available when the final-field markets are released by bookmakers.

Most bookmakers offer commingled pools to match the big markets offered in Hong Kong, which results in big dividends.

QEII Cup history

The QEII Cup originated in 1975 when Queen Elizabeth II visited Hong Kong.

To mark the visit, the Hong Kong Jockey Club staged the inaugural running with a prize purse of HK$50,000.

The race was first run at Happy Valley before moving to Sha Tin in 1979. 

It was run twice in 1986, the first in April and again in October when the Queen visited.

The QEII Cup was opened to international competition in 1995 and was awarded Group 1 status in 2001.

Silvano was the first runner to win at Group 1 level, which was trained by global training sensation Andreas Wohler.

The race was a part of the World Racing Championships, which is now defunct. 

Some of Hong Kong's best horses have won the QEII Cup, including Werther, Blazing Speed and Designs On Rome, however, most are bred offshore.

QEII Cup betting guide

The QEII Cup used to be a race for favourites' punters, but the betting landscape has changed of late.

There have been only two favourites win from 2004-2017 with Ambitious Dragon winning in 2011 at odds of $2.30 and Designs On Rome winning at odds of $2.20 in 2014.

Despite names such as Werther and Military Attack winning, punters got great value odds from bookmakers.

Punters will often get good odds because the race is typically wide open. Blazing Speed and Military Attack both paid double figures and River Dancer was able to win at $58 in 2004.

Each way betting has been the play for punters since three consecutive favourites won in the 90's.

The best barrier draw to follow is barrier 8, much like the Chairman's Sprint Prize.

Five winners have been recorded from that draw since 1997 and it has also produced three placings.

A draw to avoid are barriers 4 and 14, which has yet to yield a win.

QEII Cup facts

Werther was the fourth Hong Kong Derby winner to have won the QEII Cup in the same year and it was the second biggest margin of victory (4.5 lengths) behind Quicken Away's seven-length romp in 1990.

Local runner Viva Pataca and Japanese entrant Eishin Preston are the only two horses to have won on multiple occasions.

John Moore is the most successful trainer with five wins in 30 years. All five winners have come since 2007.

Australian rider Tommy Berry became the first jockey to win the QEII Cup on his first day of his contract when he won with Military Attack in 2013.

The current prize purse is 110 times more than what was offered 30 years ago.

QEII Cup lead-up races

The Hong Kong Derby is the best form guide for the QEII Cup.

Werther, Designs On Rome, Ambitious Dragon and Vengeance of Rain all came through the Derby in the last 12 years.

The Premier Plate has also been used by winners' Blazing Speed and Military Attack. 

The Dubai Duty Free was a great form race for Archipenko and Prevsis, which won in consecutive years (2008-2009).

Two winners came through the Hong Kong Gold Cup (Industrialist and Viva Pataca).

Past QEII Cup winners

2019Win Bright
2018Pakistan Star
2015Blazing Speed
2014Designs On Rome
2013Military Attack
2011Ambitious Dragon
2010Viva Pataca
2007Viva Pataca
2005Vengeance Of Rain
2004River Dancer
2003Eishin Preston
2002Eishin Preston