2022 Irish Champion Stakes Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The highlight on day one of Irish Champions Weekend is the Irish Champion Stakes. 

This Group One is one of the most prestigious in all of Irish Flat racing. Run over 1m 2f, some of the best horses in the world have won the Irish Champion Stakes, and claimed the highly-lucrative first prize.

A top-quality field will line up in this year's Irish Champion Stakes, and it's sure to make for compelling viewing.

Irish Champion Stakes Key Facts

Date Saturday, 10th September, 2022
Course Leopardstown
Status Group One
Distance 1m2f
Race Type Set Weights
First Prize € 427,500
Age 3YO+

2022 Irish Champion Stakes Odds

No betting markets are currently open for the 2022 Irish Champion Stakes.

2022 Irish Champion Stakes Tips

Our guide to the 2022 Irish Champion Stakes will be published in the week leading up to Irish Champions Weekend.

2021 Irish Champion Stakes Result

1stSt Mark's Basilica5/6f
3rdPoetic Flare4/1

Irish Champion Stakes Day Card

1:55pm Leopardstown Ingabelle Stakes (Listed) 7f
2:30pm Leopardstown Petingo Handicap (Premier Handicap) 1m5f
3:05pm Leopardstown Champions Juvenile Stakes (Group 2) 1m
3:40pm Leopardstown Paddy Power Stakes (Group 3) 1m4f
4:15pm Leopardstown QIPCO Irish Champion Stakes (Group 1) 1m2f
4:50pm Leopardstown Boomerang Stakes (Group 2) 1m
5:25pm Leopardstown Matron Stakes (Group 1) 1m
6:00pm Leopardstown Sovereign Path Handicap (Premier Handicap) 7f

Irish Champion Stakes History

The Irish Champion Stakes is one of the most prestigious flat races in Irish Racing. The race is open to three-year-olds and above, and a trip of one-and-a-quarter-miles will have to be completed.

The Irish Champion Stakes was first run at Leopardstown in 1986. It's a Group One race sponsored by QIPCO and is part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge Series, with the winner guaranteeing them a place in the Breeders' Cup Turf later in November.

Winners of the Irish Champion Stakes often go on to run in the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe - Europe's most prestigious flat race. The first horse to win both races in the same season was Carroll House, who scored at Leopardstown and Longchamp under Mick Kinane in 1989.

Dylan Thomas is the only horse to win the Irish Champion Stakes twice, successfully retaining his crown in 2007. Aidan O'Brien's star also won the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe later than autumn.

Three other legends of the game managed to win the Irish Champion Stakes and the Arc in the same season. Suave Dancer managed it in 1991. Sea The Stars landed the double in 2009, six years before Golden Horn won both races under Frankie Dettori.

Although the race is staged in Ireland, British trainers have enjoyed plenty of success in this Group One. Henry Cecil, Sir Michael Stoute, Ed Dunlop and Kevin Ryan have all saddled winners of the Irish Champion Stakes. 

Roger Charlton's first victory came in 2017, when five-year-old Decorated Knight defeated his Irish rivals. John Gosden then celebrated his third win the following year, as Roaring Lion defeated Saxon Warrior in stunning fashion.

Aidan O'Brien is the most successful trainer in the history of the Irish Champion Stakes. Aidan's first winner came in 2000 when Giants Causeway won. His eighth triumph came in 2020, when top-mare Magical headed a 1-2-3 for Ballydoyle.

Ghaiyyath travelled to Leopardstown as the odds-on favourite in 2020, but it was Magical who prevailed once again, retaining her crown with another superb performance. Aidan O'Brien then celebrated his ninth win as St Mark's Basilica held off Tarnawa and Poetic Flare to win a thrilling renewal of the Irish Champion Stakes.

Irish Champion Stakes Winners

2021 St Mark's Basilica
2020 Magical
2019 Magical
2018 Roaring Lion
2017 Decorated Knight
2016 Almanzor
2015 Golden Horn
2014 The Grey Gatsby
2013 The Fugue
2012 Snow Fairy
2011 So You Think
2010 Cape Blanco
2009 Sea The Stars
2008 New Approach
2007 Dylan Thomas
2006 Dylan Thomas
2005 Oratorio
2004 Azamour
2003 High Chaparral
2002 Grandera

Irish Champion Stakes FAQs

When is the Irish Champion Stakes?

The 2021 Irish Champion Stakes will be run at 4:10pm at Leopardstown on Saturday 11th September.

What is the Irish Champion Stakes?

The Irish Champion Stakes is a Group One race staged at Leopardstown in September. It's the feature race on day one of Irish Champions Weekend. The race is open to three-year-olds and above, and the trip is 1m 2f.

Who won the Irish Champion Stakes?

The 2020 Irish Champion Stakes was won by Magical, who edged out hot favourite Ghiayyath to retain her title.

Where can I watch the Irish Champion Stakes?

The 2021 Irish Champion Stakes will be shown live on Racing TV. If you want to watch the race via your mobile or tablet, then check out our Live Streaming page.