2 Showlhs N

2022 Coral Gold Cup Tips & Predictions

The first big race to be staged at Newbury during the new National Hunt season is the Ladbrokes Trophy. This historic Group Three handicap has been won by many legendary horses, and has often been used as a stepping stone towards the Cheltenham Gold Cup later in the season.

All of National Hunt racing's top trainers will target a victory in the Ladbrokes Trophy. Runners from Paul Nicholls', Nicky Henderson's and Colin Tizzard's stables will sit prominently in the betting for the 2021 renewal, and the race will be shown live on ITV Racing.

2022 Coral Gold Cup Tips & Predictions

No odds are yet available for the 2022 Ladbrokes Trophy.

2022 Coral Gold Cup Tips

Our guide to this huge handicap will be published in the week leading up to the race.

Coral Gold Cup Card

1 Mares' Novices' Hurdle (Listed) 2m
2 John Francombe Novices' Chase (Grade 2) 3m
3 Sir Peter O'Sullevan Memorial Handicap Chase (Class 2) 2m6f
4 Handicap Hurdle (Class 2) 2m4f
5 Intermediate Hurdle (Listed) 2m
6 Coral Gold Cup Handicap Chase (Grade 3) 3m2f
7 Jim Joel Memorial Trophy (Class 2) 2m

2021 Coral Gold Cup Result

1st Cloudy Glen 33/1
2nd Fiddlerontheroof 9/2
3rd Brahma Bull 40/1

Coral Gold Cup History

Originally known as the Hennessy Cognac Gold Cup, this handicap was first staged back in 1957. The race was originally staged at Cheltenham, before being moved to Newbury in 1960.

This handicap was known as "The Hennessy" for much of its existance. Ladbrokes took over sponsorship in 2017, and it's been called the Ladbrokes Trophy ever since.

Top stayer Mandarin won the first-ever renewal of the Ladbrokes Trophy. He would then go on to reclaim the crown on the second occasion it was staged at Newbury in 1961.

Tom Taffe's Arkle, widely regarded as the greatest horse in the history of jumps racing, came won this handicap in 1964 and '65, carrying a crippling burden of 12-07 on both occasions. Arkle won go on to win the Gold Cup at Cheltenham in both of those seasons, before securing a hat-trick of Gold Cup wins in 1966.

After that, many future Cheltenham Gold Cup horses began their campaign with a run in "the Hennessy". Gold Cup winner Burrough Hill Lad came to Newbury just months after his Cheltenham triumph, and produced an Arkle-esque performance to triumph under 12 stone.

Popular chaser, One Man won the Ladbrokes Trophy in 1994. Although he failed in his bid to win the Gold Cup, Tony Dobbins' star would drop back in trip and win the Champion Chase four years later.

Another of the sports most popular figures, Denman carried top-weight to victory at Newbury in 2007, and again in 2009. Paul Nicholls' charge went on to win the Gold Cup at Cheltenham in 2008, and finished second to stablemate Kauto Star in '07 and '09.

Bob's Worth became Nicky Henderson's second winner of the Ladbrokes Trophy in 2012, before scoring in the Gold Cup that same season.

Native River handed Colin Tizzard a maiden victory at Newbury in 2016. Although he would finish third in the Gold Cup that season, Native River went two better at Cheltenham the following season, winning the 2018 Gold Cup.

The late-great Many Clouds struck in the 2014 Ladbrokes Trophy, and went on to secure a famous victory in the Grand National that season under Leighton Aspell.

Willie Mullins won the Ladbrokes Trophy for the first time in 2018, as Total Recall held off Whisper. There was another first in 2019, as Emma Lavelle's De Rasher Counter handed both his trainer, and young jockey Ben Jones' their maiden wins in this historic handicap.

Cloth Cap proved himself very well handicapped by winning the Ladbrokes Trophy off just 136 in 2020. Cloudy Glen then caused a shock by winning the 2021 Ladbrokes Trophy at 33/1.

Coral Gold Cup Winners

2021 Cloudy Glen
2020 Cloth Cap
2019 De Rasher Counter
2018 Sizing Tennessee
2017 Total Recall
2016 Native River
2015 Smad Place
2014 Many Clouds
2013 Triolo D'Alene
2012 Bobs Worth
2011 Carruthers
2010 Diamond Harry
2009 Denman
2008 Madison du Berlais
2007 Denman
2006 State Of Play
2005 Trabolgan
2004 Celestial Gold
2003 Strong Flow
2002 Gingembre
2001 What's Up Boys
2000 King's Road