• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Magic Millions
  • Magic Millions 2YO Classic

Magic Millions 2YO Classic History & Winners

The Magic Millions 2YO Classic is the feature of the Magic Millions Raceday
The 2YO Classic was first held in 1987 and is for juveniles
The race is worth $2 million and takes place at Gold Coast in January each year
Capitalist, Houtzen and Sunlight are recent winners of the 2YO race

gold coast 2yo classic
Away Game is a winner of the Magic Million 2YO Classic (Getty Images)
Freetips staff 11 Jan 2021
Share this article
success image

First run in 1987 when taken out by Snippets, the 2YO Classic has since become one of the popular races in Australia and it kicks off the year in fine style.

Horses purchased from the Magic Millions Sales at Gold Coast, Tasmania, Perth and Adelaide are eligible to run in the Magic Millions 2YO Classic as a juvenile.

With ever-increasing prize money, due to the revamped Queensland Summer Racing Carnival, the 2YO Classic is now worth $2 million with the entire racing card became Australia’s first $10 million race day. 

That has since been surpassed by the likes of The Everest, but it’s a significant achievement for Queensland Racing.

The 2YO Classic is the first million-dollar race for two-year-olds in the calendar year, with the Blue Diamond and Golden Slipper coming afterwards.

It has a good history of producing quality types and with recent winners such as Capitalist and Sunlight, the popularity of the 2YO Classic is always rising.

Magic Millions 2YO Classic Facts

Inside barriers are key for the Magic Millions 2YO Classic. Single-figure barrier draws are important given the short distance of the race.

Expensive thoroughbreds don’t always translate into winning races and the Magic Millions is a good example of that. 

Winners can often be sold for small figures, which includes the likes of 2011 champion Karuta Queen ($30,000) and 2008 winner Augusta Proud, which was passed in at the sales at a price of $47,500. 

Magic Millions 2YO Classic Winners

The 2YO Classic has a rich history of producing top-level winners which has since gone on to achieve great things on the race track. 

Although not rated on the same level as the Golden Slipper, especially at stud level, the Magic Millions Classic is from which to follow the winners.

Dance Hero, Phelan Ready and Capitalist have won the 2YO Classic before winning the Slipper later that season.

2020 Away Game
2019 Exhilarates
2018 Sunlight
2017 Houtzen
2016 Capitalist
2015 Le Chef
2014 Unencumbered
2013 Real Surreal
2012 Driefontein
2011 Karuta Queen
2010 Military Rose
2009 Phelan Ready
2008 Augusta Proud
2007 Mimi Lebrock
2006 Mirror Mirror
2005 Bradbury’s Luck
2004 Dance Hero
2003 Regimental Gal
2002 Lovely Jubly
2001 Excellerator


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

23 April 2021

  • Sandor Martin vs Kay Prosper Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

01 May 2021

09 May 2021

29 May 2021