2022 July Cup Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The July Cup is one of the premier sprinting races in Britain and it's the feature race on Day 3 of the Newmarket July Festival.

The July Cup is worth £500,000 and is targetted by the major stables. 

It gives the Royal Ascot contestants something to chase following the carnival and runners from the Diamond Jubilee and King's Stand Stakes often line up a month later.

July Cup Key Facts

DateSaturday July 9, 2022
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money£500,000

July Cup Day Card

Race Time
Race Title
12:10bet365 Handicap Stakes
12:45bet365 British EBF Maiden Fillies' Stakes
1:15bet365 Novice Stakes
1:50bet365 Mile Handicap
2:25British EBF Fillies Handicap Stakes
3:00bet365 Superlative Stakes
3:35bet365 Bunbury Cup
4:10July Cup

2022 July Cup Odds

No odds are currently available for the 2022 July Cup.

2022 July Cup betting selections & tips

Our tips for this thrilling Group One sprint will be published when the field is confirmed and the draw has been made.

2021 July Cup Result

2ndDragon Symbol7/2f

July Cup History

Queen Victoria bred the first two July Cup winners in 1876 and 1877 with Springfield and there have been many champions take the title since.

The July Cup was elevated to Group 1 status in 1978 and it's the premier sprint race following the Royal Ascot carnival. It is also a part of the Global Sprint Challenge, which features other Group 1 sprint races from around the world.

Currently the sixth leg of the challenge, the July Cup is preceded by the Diamond Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot and followed by the Sprinters Stakes in Japan.

Sundridge is the only horse to score three consecutive July Cup wins (1902-1904) and the most recent horse to win two straight was Right Boy in 1958 and 1959, with Lester Piggott in the saddle.

Success has been shared around in the July Cup, with the big breeding stables not dominating the July Cup as they have with the other high-profile UK-based thoroughbred races.

Female jockey Hayley Turner created headlines in 2011 when winning aboard Dream Ahead. It was her first Group 1 win and then three-year-old Dream Ahead would later become a successful stallion.

In 1964, champion Australian rider and five-time Caulfield Cup winner Scobie Breasley won the July Cup with Daylight Robbery. Breasley would later have a medal named after him in Australia.

Slade Power won the 2014 July Cup following his win in the Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

Aidan O'Brien has won the last two runnings of the July Cup with three-year-olds dropping back from a mile. US Navy Flag scored in 2018, before Ten Sovereigns romped to victory in 2019.

Roger Teal celebrated a surprise victory in the 2020 July Cup, as 12/1 shot Oxted defeated Sceptical and Golden Horde at Newmarket. Ed Walker was then celebrating 12 months later, as Starman defeated Dragon Symbol and Oxted to win his first Group One.

July Cup Betting Guide

Winners from 2013-2017 were all in the top three in betting, but only five of the last 12 winners were favourites.

Harry Angel was well-supported in 2017 and punters were getting great value with Limato (9/2) in 2016. Muhaarar and Slade Power scored consecutive wins as the favourite in 2014-2015, but there have been some surprise results since. Mayson won at odds of 20/1 in 2012 for Richard Fahey and it was the second 110-rated winner in the last 12 years.

The big fields make for great odds on offer and there's rarely a short-priced favourite. Bookmakers will often risk one of the well-favoured runners and punters were able to get 7/1 about Dream Ahead in 2011, despite it carrying a rating of 126 – the highest-rated winner in recent history.

July Cup Trends

  • Nine of the last 12 winners were aged three or four.
  • 11 of the last 12 winners had a recent run before entering the July Cup and three horses had only one run that season before winning.
  • Seven of those winners had previously won a Group 1 and 11 of the 12 had won at group level.
  • The lowest-rated winner in recent history was Sahkee's Secret at 108. The stallion had only five wins from eight starts on the track before being retired to stud.
  • Following its July Cup win, it was crowned World Champion three-year-old sprinter

July Cup Winners

July Cup winner
2019 Ten Sovereigns
2018US Navy Flag
2017Harry Angel
2014Slade Power
2013Lethal Force
2011Dream Ahead
2009Fleeting Spirit
2008Marchand d'Or
2007Sahkee's Secret
2006Les Arcs
2005Pastoral Pursuits
2003Oasis Dream
2000Agnes World
1997Compton Place
1995Lake Coniston
1992Mr Brooks
1991Polish Patriot
1990Royal Academy
1989Cadeaux Genereux
1988Soviet Star

2021 July Cup FAQs

When was the July Cup first run?

The July Cup was first staged at Newmarket in 1876. Springfield won the first ever running of the July Cup.

Who won the July Cup?

12/1 shot Oxted beat Sceptical and Golden Horde to win the 2020 July Cup

Where can I watch the July Cup?

The 2020 July Cup will be shown live on ITV Racing. Visit our Live Streaming page if you want to watch the race on your mobile or tablet.

When is the July Cup?

The 2021 July Cup will take place on Saturday 10th July during Newmarket's July Festival.