• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Newmarket July Festival
  • July Cup

When is the 2022 July Cup?

13 Jul 2021
Freetips staff 13 Jul 2021
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 July Cup
  • This Group One will take place at Newmarket's July Festival on Saturday 9th July 2022
July Cup newmarket
Tom Marquand riding Starman celebrates as he crosses the line to win The Darley July Cup Stakes. (Getty)

When is the 2022 July Cup?

The 2022 July Cup will be run at Newmarket racecourse on Saturday 9th July 2022.

What is the July Cup?

The July Cup is Group One race staged on day three of Newmarket's July Festival. This historic sprint is run over a trip of six furlongs and open to horses of three-years-old and above. Many of Britain and Ireland's best sprinters have won the July Cup.

Who won the July Cup?

Ed Walker's Starman won his first Group One at the July Festival in 2021, defeating Dragon Symbol, Oxted and Art Power to win the July Cup.

Which horses will run in the 2022 July Cup?

Starman will likely return to the July Festival to try and defend his crown in 2022. Dragon Symbol, Oxted, Art Power and Creative Force could also have another crack at the defending champion. Horses who run in the 2022 Guineas and the Commonwealth Cup may also run in the July Cup.

Where is the July Cup run?

The July Cup is run at Newmarket racecourse. Unlike the Guineas and the Dewhurst, which are both run on the Rowley Mile, the July Cup takes place on Newmarket's other track, the July course.

Where can I watch the July Cup?

The July Cup will be shown on channels like ITV and RacingTV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

July Cup Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 July Cup live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

July Cup Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

July Cup History

Queen Victoria bred the first two July Cup winners in 1876 and 1877 with Springfield and there have been many champions take the title since.

The July Cup was elevated to Group 1 status in 1978 and it's the premier sprint race following the Royal Ascot carnival. It is also a part of the Global Sprint Challenge, which features other Group 1 sprint races from around the world.

Currently the sixth leg of the challenge, the July Cup is preceded by the Diamond Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot and followed by the Sprinters Stakes in Japan.

Sundridge is the only horse to score three consecutive July Cup wins (1902-1904) and the most recent horse to win two straight was Right Boy in 1958 and 1959, with Lester Piggott in the saddle.

Success has been shared around in the July Cup, with the big breeding stables not dominating the July Cup as they have with the other high-profile UK-based thoroughbred races.

Female jockey Hayley Turner created headlines at the 2011 July Festival when winning aboard Dream Ahead. It was her first Group 1 win and then three-year-old Dream Ahead would later become a successful stallion.

In 1964, champion Australian rider and five-time Caulfield Cup winner Scobie Breasley won the July Cup with Daylight Robbery. Breasley would later have a medal named after him in Australia.

Slade Power won the 2014 July Cup following his win in the Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

Aidan O'Brien has won the last two runnings of the July Cup with three-year-olds dropping back from a mile. US Navy Flag scored in 2018, before Ten Sovereigns romped to victory in 2019.

Roger Teal celebrated a surprise victory in the 2020 July Cup, as 12/1 shot Oxted defeated Sceptical and Golden Horde at Newmarket.

Winners from 2013-2017 were all in the top three in betting, but only five of the last 12 winners were favourites.

Harry Angel was well-supported in 2017 and punters were getting great value with Limato (9/2) in 2016. Muhaarar and Slade Power scored consecutive wins as the favourite in 2014-2015, but there have been some surprise results since. Mayson won at odds of 20/1 in 2012 for Richard Fahey and it was the second 110-rated winner in the last 12 years.

The big fields make for great odds on offer and there's rarely a short-priced favourite. Bookmakers will often risk one of the well-favoured runners and punters were able to get 7/1 about Dream Ahead in 2011, despite it carrying a rating of 126 – the highest-rated winner in recent history.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More