• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Royal Ascot
  • St James's Palace Stakes

When is the 2023 St James's Palace Stakes?

Last updated: 22 Jun 2022
Freetips staff 22 Jun 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2023 St James's Palace Stakes
  • The 2023 St James's Palace Stakes will be run on day one of Royal Ascot on Tuesday 20th June
Coroebus ridden by William Buick wins The St James's Palace Stakes during Royal Ascot 2022 at Ascot. (Getty)

When is the 2023 St James's Palace Stakes?

The 2023 St James's Palace Stakes takes place on day one of Royal Ascot on Tuesday 20th June, 2023. All five days of Royal Ascot 2023 will be shown live on ITV Racing.

What is the St James's Palace Stakes?

The St James's Palace Stakes is the last of three Group One races that takes place on day one of Royal Ascot. This historic race is run over a trip of a mile and open only to three-year-old colts.

Who won the St James's Palace Stakes?

2000 Guineas winner, Coroebus held on to secure victory in a thrilling renewal of the St James's Palace Stakes in 2022.

Which horses will run in the 2023 St James's Palace Stakes?

As this race is open to three-year-old colts and run over a mile, horses who ran in the 2000 Guineas and the Irish 2000 Guineas will often run in the St James's Palace Stakes. Some horses who only made their debut this year may also step up and run at Royal Ascot.

Where is the St James's Palace Stakes run?

The St James's Palace Stakes takes place at Ascot racecourse, situated in Berkshire, England.

Where can I watch the St James's Palace Stakes?

The St James's Palace Stakes will be shown live on ITV and RacingTV. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

St James's Palace Stakes Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 St James's Palace Stakes live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Diamond Jubilee Stakes History

The race is named after the royal residence during the Tudor period and was first run in 1934 when won by Plenipotentiary.

Elevated to Group 1 status in 1988, the St James's Palace Stakes has since been won by some of Europe's best three-year-old talent.

Galileo Gold, Gleneagles, Frankel and Canford Cliffs are all recent winners of the race and the likes of Frankel and Canford Cliffs would go on to win the Queen Anne Stakes a year later.

The quality form race has been dominated by Aidan O'Brien since the turn of the millennium. O'Brien has scored seven wins (Giant's Causeway, Black Minnaloushe, Rock of Gibraltar, Excellent Art, Henrythenavigator, Mastercraftsman, Gleneagles).

The impressive list of winners has set O'Brien above the rest he has become the world's best trainer of three-year-old classic winners.

The St James's Palace Stakes has been an option for both the sprinter/milers and the Guineas-type thoroughbreds, making it the most popular race for colts during the carnival.

Frankel was a popular winner in 2011, but it was one of Frankel's least impressive performances. The champion colt used a lot of gas early in the race and was almost caught by Zoffany near the line.

The winner of the St James's Palace Stakes often goes on to be crowned champion three-year-old colt, among other awards at the end of the season.

There have been some small upsets in Royal Ascot recent history, but this race is largely dominated by the favourites.

Barney Roy paid 5/2 in 2017 when beating favourite Churchill and Galileo Gold paid 6/1 when beating The Gurkha in 2016, but it has been predominantly the well-fancied types winning.

The big plunge didn't come off on 4/5 favourite The Gurkha, but Gleneagles was able to score in 2015 at 8/15. The O'Brien-trained colt only had to get past five runners in a disappointing field numbers wise.

One of the more popular winners came in 2014 when Kingman landed a big betting plunge. The John Gosden-trained colt won by 2.25 lengths and returned 8/11 with bookmakers.

Three consecutive short-priced favourites won the St James's Palace Stakes with Dawn Approach winning in 2013 as the 5/4 favourite.

The top liner defeated a field which included Toronado, Dundonell and Magician. James Doyle is a jockey to follow in the race, having won in 2014 aboard Kingsman and in 2017 aboard Barney Boy.

Local connections have the best record in the St James's Stakes, but Australian jockey Kerrin McEvoy rode for Godolphin in 2005 when piloting Shamardal to victory.

2018 saw the well-backed Without Parole claim victory in the St James’s Palace Stakes for John Gosden and Frankie Dettori.

Gosden then looked set for a remarkable one-two in 2019, only for Aidan O’Brien’s Circus Maximus to power home and snatch the title ahead of King Of Comedy and Too Darn Hot.

The 2000 Guineas winner followed up in the St James's Palace Stakes in both 2021 and '22. First, Poetic Flare ran out a comfortable winner at Royal Ascot, before Charlie Appleby's Coroebus claimed a narrow victory 12 months later.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

18 June 2024

  • Royal Ascot 2024 Day 1 -
  • Horse Racing
Load More