• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • Sprint Cup

When is the 2022 Sprint Cup?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 Sprint Cup
  • This Group One will be run at Haydock on Saturday 3rd September 2022
haydock sprint cup
Haydock Park races. (Getty)
Freetips staff 13 Sep 2021
Share this article
success image

When is the 2022 Sprint Cup?

The 2022 Sprint Cup will be run at Haydock racecourse on Saturday 3rd September 2022.

What is the Sprint Cup?

The Sprint Cup is a Group One race that highlights the flat season at Haydock Park. This classy race is open to horses of three-years-old and above, and run over a trip of six furlongs.

Who won the Sprint Cup?

Emaraaty Ana scored a surprise victory in the 2021 Sprint Cup, holding off favourite Starman to hand trainer Kevin Ryan his first victory in that historic Group One.

Which horses will run in the 2022 Sprint Cup?

Emaraaty Ana could return to Haydock Park as a six-year-old to try and defend his Sprint Cup crown. Starman and Dragon Symbol could run again, as could Winter Power, Rohaan and Glen Shiel.

Where is the Sprint Cup run?

The Sprint Cup is run at Haydock Park racecourse, situated in Liverpool, England.

Where can I watch the Sprint Cup?

The Sprint Cup will be shown on channels like ITV and RacingTV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Sprint Cup Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 Sprint Cup live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Sprint Cup Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Sprint Cup History

Devised by the legendary Robert Sangster, the Sprint Cup was added to the British flat racing schedule in 1966.

Initially, the Sprint Cup was open to horses of all ages. Be Friendly was only a juvenile when he won the first Sprint Cup, before successfully defending his crown as a three-year-old 12 months later.

The Sprint Cup was originally held in November, but was pushed back to September in 1979. Juveniles were free to enter the Sprint Cup right up until 1994, after which the race became open only to horses of three years old and above.

Be Friendly remains the only horse to ever win the Sprint Cup twice. Great Sprinters like Moorestyle, Habibti and Ajdal all triumphed at Haydock in the 1980s, but none were able to successfully defend the trophy.

Pat Eddery is the joint-most successful jockey in the Sprint Cup, with the last of his three wins coming on Danehill in 1989. Lester Piggott also rode the winner at Haydock three times, as did Willie Carson and Bruce Raymond.

Carson guided the great Dayjur to a fantastic victory in the 1990 Sprint Cup. John Dunlop then saddled Lavinia Fontana before she was ridden to victory by Jason Weaver in 1994. Two years later, John's son Ed Dunlop trainer the winner, with Iktamaal coming out on top.

Frankie Dettori's only Sprint Cup winner came on Diktat in 1999. John Dunlop's fourth and final winner came in 2002, when the great Invincible Spirit scored in excellent style.

African Rose came over from France to win the 2008 Sprint Cup for Criquette Head-Maarek. Dream Ahead and Society Rock then scored at Haydock, and both have gone on to be successful sires at stud.

Tom Hogan's stable star, Gordon Lord Byron scored a popular victory in 2013. David O'Meara then celebrated the biggest win of his training career when G Force won the 2015 Sprint Cup.

Three-year-olds have dominant the Sprint Cup in recent history. Five of the six winners between 2014 and 2019 were three, including Twilight Son, Quiet Reflection, Harry Angel and Hello Youmzain.

The Tin Man, ridden by Oisin Murphy, was six when he won in 2018. Murphy then guided another six-year-old, Dream Of Dreams to victory for Sir Michael Stoute in the 2020 Sprint Cup.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

20 September 2021

21 September 2021

  • Detroit Lions at Green Bay Packers
  • -
  • American Football

25 September 2021

  • Anthony Joshua vs Oleksandr Usyk Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

30 October 2021

31 December 2021