2 Showlhs N

2023 St Leger Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The St Leger is one of the oldest and most prestigious races in the world of flat racing.

This Group One, run over 1m 6f, was first run at Doncaster racecourse way back in 1776, and has been won by many of the greatest middle-distance horses flat racing has ever produced.

The St Leger is the final Classic run in Britain, meaning it's only open to three-year-olds. It's also the last leg of the Triple Crown, which features the 2000 Guineas and the Epsom Derby for colts, and the 1000 Guineas and Epsom Oaks for fillies.

St Leger Key Facts

Date Saturday, 16th September, 2023
Course Doncaster
Status Group One
Distance 1m6½f
Race Type Set Weights
Prize Pot £396k
Age 3YO

2023 St Leger Odds

No odds are currently available for the 2022 St Leger.

2023 St Leger Tips

Our preview of the 2022 St Leger usually goes live the week before the race. We then update our tips when the final field has been revealed.

2022 St Leger Result

1stEldar Eldarov4/1
3rdNew London11/8f

St Leger Day Card

1:50pm Portland Handicap (Class 2) 5½f
2:25pm Park Stakes (Group 2) 7f
3:00pm Champagne Stakes (Group 2) 7f
3:35pm St Leger (Group 1) 1m6½f
4:10pm Nursery Handicap (Class 2) 1m
4:45pm One Mile Handicap (Class 2) 1m
5:55pm Drywall Handicap (Class 2) 1m4f

St Leger History

Of the five Classic races staged in Britain, the St Leger is the oldest. First run back in 1776, four years before the Epsom Derby, the St Leger boasts a long and storied history, along with a glittering roll of hnour.

When Anthony St Leger first devised the race, it was run over a two-mile trip at Doncaster and named "A Sweepstake Of 25 Guineas". The following season, the race was renamed the "St Leger" and, in 1813, the length of the contest was reduced to its current distance of 1m 6½f.

The most famous early winner of the St Leger was Champion, who became the first horse to win the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in the same season in 1800. 

In 1853, West Australian became the first horse to complete the fabled Triple Crown, winning the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in a calendar year.

In 1906, it was decided that geldings would not be allowed to run in the St Leger. During the first World War, the St Leger was staged at Newmarket. The race was held at multiple venues during World War II, including Newmarket, York, Manchester and Thirsk.

Since then, there have only been two years when the St Leger hasn't been run at Doncaster. Michelozzo won this Classic at Ayr in 1989. When Town Moor was closed for redevelopment in 2006, the St Leger was moved to York, where Simple Verse came out on top.

Since West Australian's triumph in 1853, 14 colts have completed the Triple Crown at Doncaster. Other famous Triple Crown winners include Ormonde, Gary Crusader, Gainsborough and Nijinsky, who was the last colt to win the Triple Crown in 1970.

Nine fillies have completed their version of the Triple Crown with victory in the St Leger. The most recent of those being the great Oh So Sharp, who reigned supreme at Doncaster in 1985.

Legendary trainer, John Scott is by far the most successful handler in St Leger history, having saddled the winner 16 times between 1827 and 1862.

John's brother, Bill Scott is the most successful jockey, having ridden the winner of the St Leger nine times, with six of those wins coming aboard one of his brother's horses.

In 1822, 200/1 outsider Theodore claimed a shock victory in the St Leger, and remains the longest-priced winner of a Group One race in British racing history.

Great names like Donovan, Sceptre and Pretty Polly won the St Leger around the turn of the 20th century. 

Frankie Dettori won the first of his six St Leger's aboard Classic Cliche in 1995, and repeated the trick with Shantou 12 months later. 

Milan, Scorpion and Lucarno all won the St Leger in the 21st century, and have gone on to have highly-successful careers as National Hunt sires.

Camelot attempted to complete the Triple Crown at Doncaster in 2012, but Aidan O'Brien's 2/5 favourite was defeated by 25/1 shot Encke, ridden by Mickael Barzalona.

Harbour Law handed small-time trainer Laura Mongan a surprise win in 2016, defeating odds-on favourite Idaho, who unseated his rider three furlongs from home.

Aidan O'Brien saddled his sixth and seventh St Leger winners in 2017 and '18, with Capri and Kew Gardens coming out on top.

In 2019, Frankie Dettori ended his 11-year wait for another St Leger winner, cruising to victory aboard John Gosden's Logician in impressive fashion.

Having ridden the St Leger winner for his father in 2011, Joseph O'Brien celebrated victory as a trainer in 2020, as Galileo Chrome win the 2020 St Leger. Charlie Appleby then won his first St Leger, as hot-favourite Hurricane Lane ran out an easy winner.

St Leger Betting Guide

Fancied horses have a strong record in the St Leger. In the last 20 years, ten favourites have managed to win, with only four winners going off with an SP higher than 8/1.

Aidan O'Brien has won the St Leger six times since the year 2000. John Gosden has also won the race four times in that space of time too.

16 of the last 20 winners had won a Group race earlier in the season. Nine of the last 20 winners ran in the Great Voltigeur Stakes at York last time out.

St Leger Winners

2022 Eldar Eldarov
2021 Hurricane Lane
2020 Galileo Chrome
2019 Logician
2018 Kew Gardens
2017 Capri
2016 Harbour Law
2015 Simple Verse
2014 Kingston Hill
2013 Leading Light
2012 Encke
2011 Masked Marvel
2010 Arctic Cosmos
2009 Mastery
2008 Conduit
2007 Lucarno
2006 Sixties Icon
2005 Scorpion
2004 Rule Of Law
2003 Brian Boru
2002 Bollin Eric
2001 Milan
2000 Millenary

St Leger FAQs

When is the St Leger?

The 2022 St Leger will be run at Doncaster on Saturday 10th September.

Why is it called the St Leger?

The St Leger is named after Anthony St Leger, an army officer and politician from Doncaster who created the race in 1776.

How long is the St Leger?

The St Leger is run over a trip of one mile, six-and-a-half furlongs (2,921m).

Is the St Leger in the Triple Crown?

Yes. The St Leger is the fifth and final Classic of the season in Britain and remains the last leg of the Triple Crown. The Triple Crown consists of the 2000 Guineas, Epsom Derby and the St Leger for three-year-old colts, and the 1000 Guineas, Epsom Oaks and St Leger for three-year-old fillies.

Who won the St Leger?

Charlie Appleby then won his first St Leger in 2021, as hot-favourite Hurricane Lane ran out an easy winner.

Where can I watch the St Leger?

The 2022 St Leger will be shown live on ITV Racing. Check out our Live Streaming page if you want to watch the racing via your mobile or tablet.