• Home
  • Horse Racing
  • St Leger

When is the 2021 St Leger?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2021 St Leger
  • The final Classic of the season takes place at Doncaster on Saturday 11th September
st leger
Galileo Chrome (right) winning the 2020 St Leger. (Getty)

When is the 2021 St Leger?

The St Leger takes place in September every year. The 2021 St Leger will be run at Doncaster on Saturday 11th September.

Who won the last St Leger?

Having won the St Leger as a jockey, Joseph O'Brien celebrated victory as a trainer in 2020, as Galileo Chrome saw off Berkshire Rocco and Pyledriver to win the St Leger under jockey Tom Marquand.

What is the St Leger?

The St Leger is the oldest of the five Classic races staged in Britain during the flat racing season. The St Leger is open only to three-year-old colts and fillies, and is run over a testing trip of one mile and six furlongs.

Where is the St Leger run?

The St Leger has always been run at Doncaster racecourse, situated in Yorkshire, England.

Which horses will run in the St Leger?

Only the best and strongest three-year-olds will enter the St Leger. As it's the final leg of the Triple Crown, horses who ran in the 2000 and 1000 Guineas, plus those who impressed in either the Epsom Oaks or the Epsom Derby will often run in the St Leger.

Various trials for the St Leger takes place across Britain and Ireland. They include races like the Gordon Stakes at Goodwood, the Geoffrey Freer Stakes at Newbury, and the Great Voltigeur Stakes staged during York's Ebor Festival.

Where can I watch the 2021 St Leger?

The 2021 St Leger will be shown live on ITV and RacingTV. If you'd rather watch the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

St Leger Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2021 St Leger live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

St Leger Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming With Bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

St Leger History

Of the five Classic races staged in Britain, the St Leger is the oldest. First run back in 1776, four years before the Epsom Derby, the St Leger boasts a long and storied history, along with a glittering roll of hnour.

When Anthony St Leger first devised the race, it was run over a two-mile trip at Doncaster and named "A Sweepstake Of 25 Guineas". The following season, the race was renamed the "St Leger" and, in 1813, the length of the contest was reduced to its current distance of 1m 6½f.

The most famous early winner of the St Leger was Champion, who became the first horse to win the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in the same season in 1800. 

In 1853, West Australian became the first horse to complete the fabled Triple Crown, winning the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in a calendar year.

In 1906, it was decided that geldings would not be allowed to run in the St Leger. During the first World War, the St Leger was staged at Newmarket. The race was held at multiple venues during World War II, including Newmarket, York, Manchester and Thirsk.

Since then, there have only been two years when the St Leger hasn't been run at Doncaster. Michelozzo won this Classic at Ayr in 1989. When Town Moor was closed for redevelopment in 2006, the St Leger was moved to York, where Simple Verse came out on top.

Since West Australian's triumph in 1853, 14 colts have completed the Triple Crown at Doncaster. Other famous Triple Crown winners include Ormonde, Gary Crusader, Gainsborough and Nijinsky, who was the last colt to win the Triple Crown in 1970.

Nine fillies have completed their version of the Triple Crown with victory in the St Leger. The most recent of those being the great Oh So Sharp, who reigned supreme at Doncaster in 1985.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

31 October 2020

  • Saturday's ITV Racing from Ascot, Wetherby and Down Royal
  • -
  • Horse Racing

16 March 2021