2020 Australian Derby Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

The Australian Derby is the premier three-year-old staying race in Australia and is worth $2 million in prize money.

Held on Day 1 of The Championships, the Derby is considered the "Stallion making" race in Australia and it has been taken out by some the Southern Hemisphere's best thoroughbreds. 

It's tough for a filly to win the race based on the weights, so the Derby has been dominated by the colts and geldings for some time.

Australian Derby Key Facts

DateSaturday April 5, 2020
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prizemoney$2 million

2020 Australian Derby Tips & Betting Predictions

We will have 2020 Australian Derby Tips & Betting Predictions.

Australian Derby Day betting card 2020

There are 10 premier races on Australian Derby Day at Randwick, including three other Group 1 races and the Doncaster Mile.

Race No.
Race Name
1Widden Anniversary Stakes
2Carbine Club Stakes
3Chairman's Handicap
4Country Championships Final
5P.J. Bell Stakes
6Inglis Sires' Produce
7Australian Derby
8T.J. Smith Stakes
9Doncaster Mile
10Adrian Knox Stakes

2019 Australian Derby result

1st - Angel of Truth
2nd - Madison County
3rd - Surely Sacred

Australian Derby history

The Australian Derby was inaugurated as the AJC Randwick Derby Stakes in 1861 before changing name to the Australian Derby in 1873.

Octagonal set the race record in 1996 when winning in a time of 2:28.41 and the biggest margin of victory came by Trident in 1886 when it scored by 10 lengths.

There hasn't been much controversy in the history of the race, except on one occasion where the wrong horse won the race.

Prince Humphrey was declared the winner in 1928, but a punter pointed out that the horse in the picture had different markings to Prince Humphrey.

The horse turned out to be Cragsman, which was by the same sire but with a different dam.

Australian Derby betting guide

Bettors should be looking for the New Zealand-bred and New Zealand-trained horses when making their Derby selections.

New Zealand-bred horses won the Australian Derby from 2013 – 2017 which included wins from It's A Dundeel, Criterion, Mongolian Khan, Tavago and Jon Snow.

The dominance of the Kiwi runners is no fluke as they're set for the big staying features every year. New Zealand stud farms are best known for their staying prowess and that's starting to show in Australia, especially in the Derby.

It's always tough to gauge the ability of three-year-old stayers, but history tells us to look for the legitimate distance types.

Milers won't often win the 2400m race and despite the winners being a touch one-paced, that's often what is needed to win a Derby.

It takes a good horse to win the Derby and when past winners include the likes of Bonecrusher, Naturalism, Tulloch, Gloaming and the one and only Phar Lap, you know it's not an easy race to win.

Look for the natural stayers and disregard horses that have more speed and endurance.