2023 Cape Town Met Betting Tips, Best Bookmakers & Free Bets

One of South Africa’s biggest races, the Cape Town Met (formerly known as The Sun Met and the J & B Met) is run every January at Grade 1 level.

Held at Kenilworth in Cape Town, The Sun Met attracts huge numbers on course and it’s known as a showcase of South African racing at its best. South Africa’s best middle-distance thoroughbreds do battle in one of the most exciting races anywhere in the world.

2023 Sun Met Betting Tips

You can find the latest news and betting previews for the Sun Met below:
2 Showlhs N

Cape Town Met Key Facts

CountrySouth Africa
StatusGrade One (Weight for Age)
First Price625,000 RAND
Age3-Y-0 +
Distance2,000m (1m 2f)

2023 Cape Town Met Odds

Make It Snappy4/1
Jet Dark4/1
Cousin Casey13/2
Sparkling Water7/1

*Odds taken on 25/1/23*

Cape Town Met Betting Card

There is a whopping 12 races on The Cape Town Met card, including grade racing throughout the day.

The Cape Town Met is race #9 on the card, which also includes the Majorca Stakes and the Investec Cape Derby.

  • Race 1: South African Hall of Fame R84 Handicap
  • Race 2: Summer Juvenile Stakes
  • Race 3: Kuda Sprint
  • Race 4: CTS 1200
  • Race 5: CTS 1600
  • Race 6: Cape Flying Championship
  • Race 7: Investec Cape Derby
  • Race 8: Majorca Stakes
  • Race 9: The Cape Town Met
  • Race 10: Heineken Cape Stayers
  • Race 11: Cell C Handicap
  • Race 12: Mumm Bolt Handicap
  • Race 13: FM 80 Handicap

The Sun Met history

The first Sun Met was run in 1883 when raced under the name of the Metropolitan Mile. It was taken out by Sir Hercules and although the race wasn’t overly popular in the early 1900’s, it has been a staple of South African racing since the 1960’s.

Boosting the popularity of the race was South African champion, Politician, which was the Phar Lap of South African racing. The chestnut cruised to a 3.25-length victory in 1979 and the massive crowed was delighted with the result.

Politician would create history a year later when winning the Sun Met in incredible fashion, cementing his legacy at Kenilworth. The Syd Laird-trained runner pushed his way through runners to run down filly Festive Season. Pocket Power would be the next horse to win back-to-back Sun Met’s in 2008 and would later add a third consecutive win in 2009.

The Sun Met has become one of the social events of the South African racing calendar. With two other Grade 1 races on the card, it’s a big occasion for not only the racing public, but also those looking to enjoy racing for the first time.

Some of the best thoroughbreds have won The Sun Met, including Politician, Divine Master, Wolf Power and Horse Chestnut.

When J & B stepped away from the sponsorship, Sun International came in and raised the prize money to R5 million, making it the richest race in South Africa.

Sun Met betting guide

Betting on The Sun Met is widely popular in South African and most of the big betting nations around the world.

A big field is always presented and due to this, the odds on offer are generous from bookmakers. Similar to the Melbourne Cup in Australia, The Sun Met offers punters with great each-way value.

That was evident in 2018 when Oh Susanna won as a 7.00 chance. The Australian-bred filly by Street Cry hailed from the powerful Justin Snaith stables and she would win again her start following in the Woolavington 2000, franking the form of The Sun Met.

Punters will typically get good odds for any runner and there’s not typically a short-priced favourite in the market. This allows punters to get value odds in the wide-open field.

Betting on horses that draw low numbers in the barriers is preferred. With the track circumference of 2800m, drawing on the outside can significantly hinder a runners’ chances.

Recent Sun Met winners

2021Rainbow Bridge
2020One World
2019Rainbow Bridge
2018Oh Susanna
2017Whiskey Baron
2016Smart Call
2014Hill Fifty Four
2013Marital Eagle
2011Past Master
2010River Jetez
2009Pocket Power
2008Pocket Power
2007Pocket Power
2006Zebra Crossing
2002Polo Classic
2001Bunter Barlow
2000Badger's Coast
1999Horse Chestnut


Cape Town Met FAQs

When is the Sun Met?

The Cape Town Met, or Sun Met to many, will be run at Kenilworth on Saturday 30th January.

When does the Cape Town Met start?

The Cape Town Met will be run at 5:10pm local time (3:10pm UK Time) on Saturday 30th January.

When did the Cape Town Met start?

The Cape Town Met is one of South Africa's most prestigious races, having first been run way back in 1883.

Who won the Cape Town Met?

In 2020, One World got the better of Ryan Moore and Rainbow Bridge to win the Sun Met for trainer, Vaughan Marshall.

Where can I watch the 2021 Cape Town Met?

If you want to watch the 2021 Cape Town Met via your mobile device, then check out the Live Streaming page on our website.