• Home
  • Horse Racing

When is the 2022 Sun Chariot Stakes?

  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2022 Sun Chariot Stakes
  • This Group One will be run at Newmarket on Saturday 1st October 2022
saffron beach
Adam Kirby riding Saffron Beach (red) winning the Sun Chariot Stakes. (Getty)
Share this article
success image

When is the 2022 Sun Chariot Stakes?

The 2022 Sun Chariot Stakes will be run at Newmarket racecourse on Saturday 1st October 2022.

What is the Sun Chariot Stakes?

The Sun Chariot Stakes is an important Group One race run at Newmarket at the start of October. This historic race is open only to fillies and mares and is run over a one mile trip.

Who won the Sun Chariot Stakes?

Saffron Beach made all under William Buick to win the 2021 Sun Chariot Stakes in impressive fashion for trainer Jane Chapple-Hyam.

Which horses will run in the 2022 Sun Chariot Stakes?

Saffron Beach could return to Newmarket as a four-year-old in 2022 to defend her Sun Chariot crown. Mother Earth, Snow Lantern, Alcohol Free and Lady Bowthorpe could all run in the 2022 renewal.

Where is the Sun Chariot Stakes run?

The Sun Chariot Stakes is run on the Rowley Mile course at Newmarket, England.

Where can I watch the Sun Chariot Stakes?

The Sun Chariot Stakes will be shown on channels like ITV and RacingTV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Sun Chariot Stakes Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2022 Sun Chariot Stakes live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Sun Chariot Stakes Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Sun Chariot Stakes History

Named in honour of fillies' Triple Crown winner Sun Chariot, which was successful in 1942 when the fillies' races were staged at Newmarket due to the war.

Established in 1966, the Sun Chariot Stakes was elevated to Group 1 status in 2004 when being taken out by Attraction for Mark Johnson and jockey Kevin Darley.

Formerly held on the final day of the Cambridgeshire meeting, it was moved to a week later in 2014 and is now a stand-alone Group 1 in October.

It has been won by many champion fillies and mares, but Sahpresa stands out with three consecutive wins from 2009-2011.

The French-trained runner dominated the race for three years and it's unlikely punters will ever see that feat repeated.

Lester Piggott won six times as a jockey and Luca Cumani won six times as a trainer, with his most recent win coming in 1998 with Kissogram.

The more recent times the Sun Chariot Stakes has been dominated by jockey Ryan Moore, who won with Integral in 2014, Alice Springs in 2016 and Roly Poly in 2017.

Both Alice Springs and Roly Poly were trained by Aidan O'Brien.

Karl Burke's popular filly, Laurens beat Aidan O'Brien's Happily to win the 2018 Sun Chariot Stakes. Former Guineas winner, Billesdon Brook came out victorious the following year, with Nazeef handing John Gosden an overdue second Sun Chariot victory in 2020.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

19 October 2021

  • Atletico Madrid vs Liverpool Betting Specials
  • -
  • Soccer

20 October 2021

  • Man Utd vs Atalanta Betting Special
  • -
  • Soccer
  • Man Utd vs Liverpool Betting Special
  • -
  • Soccer

30 October 2021

  • Dillian Whyte vs Otto Wallin Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

31 December 2021