NHL Maurice Richard Trophy Betting Tips

342 Showlhs N
The NHL Maurice Richard Trophy is an annual award given to the player who scored the most goals that season in the National Hockey League.

Many leading bookmakers offer customers the chance to back the biggest names in ice hockey for this award, with the market consistently updated throughout the entire NHL regular season.

Bonus Bets

  • Get
    Bonus Code
    Available to new customers only. Make a qualifying deposit of £5 or more and claim the offer within 30 days of registering your account to qualify for 300% of that amount in Bet Credits, up to a maximum of £30 in Bet Credits. Once released, your Bet Credits will be held in your account balance and are non-withdrawable. Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Registration required. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Bet
    Double the Odds
    Maximum stake is £10. Exclusive to new members. Keep it fun – set your deposit limit. T&Cs apply. 18 Plus. begambleaware.org
  • Deposit £10
    Get £60 Play
    Bonus Code
    18+. Matched Deposit & £60 Free Play for new UK players only, min deposit £10. Free Play given in tickets over 6 days. Matched Deposit max $600 - withdrawal restrictions & play through requirements apply. Full T&Cs Apply. begambleaware.org. Please play responsibly.
  • £30
    Free bet
    Use code
    Claim £30 free bet & 20 Free Spins. Use the promo code NEWBONUS. New Hollywoodbets account holders. 18 years or older. United Kingdom residents only. T&Cs apply.
  • Free Bet Refund
    Join betgoodwin with promo code NEWBONUS and get access to their £100 Free Bet Refunds offer. 18+ only. T&Cs apply.

Previous NHL Maurice Richard Trophy Winners

This award was first introduced in 1998/99, and Teemu Selanne of the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim had the honour of being the first recipient after scoring 47 goals in 75 games that season.

However, there is only one man that has become synonymous with the award over the past coupel of decades - Alexander Ovechkin.

Ovechkin has won this title a record-setting nine times in his career and won it in four consecutive seasons between 2012 and 2016. After missing out in 2017, he then went on to win it in each of the next three seasons.

Auston Mathews of the Toronto Maple Leafs is the current goal-scoring kingpin though, having won the Maurice Richard Trophy in each of the past two seasons.

1998–99 Teemu Selanne Mighty Ducks of Anaheim 47 75
1999–2000 Pavel Bure Florida Panthers 58 74
2000–01 Pavel Bure (2) Florida Panthers 59 82
2001–02 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames 52 82
2002–03 Milan Hejduk Colorado Avalanche 50 82
2003–04 Rick Nash
Ilya Kovalchuk
Jarome Iginia (2)
Columbus Blue Jackets
Atlanta Thrashers
Calgary Flames
2004–05 No winner due to lockout
2005–06 Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose Sharks 56 82
2006–07 Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay Lightning 52 82
2007–08 Alexander Ovechkin (2) Washington Capitals 65 82
2008–09 Alexander Ovechkin Washington Capitals 56 79
2009–10 Sidney Crosby
Steven Stamkos
Pittsburgh Penguins
Tampa Bay Lightning
2010–11 Corey Perry Anaheim Ducks 50 82
2011–12 Steven Stamkos (2) Tampa Bay Lightning 60 82
2012–13 Alexander Ovechkin (3) Washington Capitals 32 48
2013–14 Alexander Ovechkin (4) Washington Capitals 51 78
2014–15 Alexander Ovechkin (5) Washington Capitals 53 81
2015–16 Alexander Ovechkin (6) Washington Capitals 50 79
2016–17 Sidney Crosby (2) Pittsburgh Penguins 44 75
2017–18 Alexander Ovechkin (7) Washington Capitals 49 82
2018–19 Alexander Ovechkin (8) Washington Capitals 51 81
2019–20 Alexander Ovechkin (9)
David Pastrnak
Washington Capitals
Boston Bruins
2020–21 Auston Matthews Toronto Maple Leafs 41 52
2021–22 Auston Matthews (2) Toronto Maple Leafs 60 73

NHL Live Streaming

Not only can you bet on who will finish the season as the NHL's top goalscorer, you can also watch the superstars of the premier league of ice hockey live in action thanks to bet365's live streaming service.

bet365's live streaming service is only available to eligible customers. To watch, all you need is a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. Please note that some geo restrictions do apply.

Diary Events

  • Time
  • Sport
  • Event
  • Live

NHL Maurice Richard Trophy FAQs

What is the NHL Maurice Richard Trophy award?

The NHL Maurice Richard Trophy is awarded to the leading goalscorer in the National Hockey League.

Who won the NHL Maurice Richard Trophy last season?

Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs won the 2021/22 NHL Maurice Richard Trophy, having scored 60 goals in 73 appearances.

Who has won the NHL Maurice Richard Trophy the most times?

Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals) has won the NHL Maurice Richard Trophy nine times.