Pro Kabaddi League Betting Tips & Odds

14833 Showlhs N

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) was launched in 2014 in India. The popularity of kabaddi in India has grown manifold since its inception, putting an end to the doubts on whether the league will be successful. 

The league follows a franchise-based mode, similar to the lucrative Indian Premier League (IPL). 

The inaugural edition in 2014 saw eight franchises representing various cities of the nation participating in the league. But a more robust model was introduced in 2017-18 as four more franchises were introduced and a new format was introduced.

The new format in 2017 ad 2018-19 saw the franchises being divided into two groups known as 'zones'. But as the new format didn't work out and soon in 2019, the league returned to its regular double round-robin format. 

Pro Kabaddi League Betting Sites

  • Get
    Bonus Code
    Available to new customers only. Make a qualifying deposit of £5 or more and claim the offer within 30 days of registering your account to qualify for 300% of that amount in Bet Credits, up to a maximum of £30 in Bet Credits. Once released, your Bet Credits will be held in your account balance and are non-withdrawable. Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Registration required. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Bet
    Double the Odds
    Maximum stake is £10. Exclusive to new members. Keep it fun – set your deposit limit. T&Cs apply. 18 Plus.
  • Deposit £10
    Get £60 Play
    Bonus Code
    18+. Matched Deposit & £60 Free Play for new UK players only, min deposit £10. Free Play given in tickets over 6 days. Matched Deposit max $600 - withdrawal restrictions & play through requirements apply. Full T&Cs Apply. Please play responsibly.
  • £10
    Free bet
    Use code
    Get £10 free bet. Use the promo code NEWBONUS.
  • Free Bet Refund
    Join betgoodwin with promo code NEWBONUS and get access to their £100 Free Bet Refunds offer. 18+ only. T&Cs apply.

Pro Kabaddi League Format & Rules

Pro Kabaddi League has placed some encouraging rules to enhance the model compared to the traditional indoor team version of kabaddi. 

The basic objective of the game is for the raider to enter the opposition's half and touch the defenders before returning to the half-line. 

If the raider succeeds in doing so, then he will accumulate points for his teams, and the defenders he has touched will have to sit out. The raider, however, has to do this in a single breath. The defenders can, meanwhile, be brought back with each point similarly scored by their team. 

The league has introduced the ‘do or die’ raid, which comes into play if a team has failed to score a point in two consecutive raids. In case the team misses out on the third attempt, then the raider will be ruled out. 

Similarly, the league has also introduced the ‘super tackle’, which comes into play when a side has three or four players remaining but successfully tackles a raider from the opposition team. In this case, the team gets awarded two points. 

Pro Kabaddi League Franchises & Owners

Home Stadium

Bengal Warriors

Kishore Biyani, Future Group

Kolkata, WB

Netaji Indoor Stadium

Bengaluru Bulls

Uday Singh Wala,

Kosmik Global Media

Bengaluru, Karnataka

Kanteerava Indoor Stadium

Dabang Delhi KC

Radha Kapoor, DO IT Sports Management India Pvt. Ltd


Thyagaraj Sports Complex

Gujarat Giants

Gautam Adani, Adani Wilmar Ltd

Ahmedabad, Gujarat

EKA Arena

Haryana Steelers

Parth Jindal, Jindal South West (JSW) Group

Sonipat, Haryana

Motilal Nehru School of Sports

Jaipur Pink Panthers

Abhishek Bachchan, GS Worldwide Entertainment

Jaipur, Rajasthan

Sawai Mansingh Indoor Stadium

Patna Pirates

Rajesh Shah, Mukund Enterprises

Patna, Bihar

Patliputra Sports Complex

Puneri Paltans

Suresh Kotak and Family, Insurekot Sports Pvt. Ltd.

Pune, Maharashtra

Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex

Tamil Thalaivas

Nimmagadda Prasad, Sachin Tendulkar, Allu Arjun, Ram Charan, Allu Aravind, Magnum Sports Private Limited

Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

Telugu Titans

Srinivas Sreeramaneni, Goutham Reddy Nedurmalli, Mahesh Kolli, Veera Sports

Hyderabad/Vizag, Telangana

Gachibowli Indoor Stadium

U Mumba

Ronnie Screwvala, Unilazer Ventures Pvt. Ltd

Mumbai, Maharashtra

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Indoor Stadium

UP Yoddha

Kiran Kumar Grandhi, GMR Group

Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium

Pro Kabaddi League Auction Rules

The PKL auction gives a chance to the franchises to strengthen the side ahead of the event. The auction mode is similar to the IPL model. Before the auction, every franchise lists released and retained players. 

The auction pool contains the released players from every franchise, players coming from the domestic level, some of the players also feature from previous seasons, and many talents come through the New Young Players (NYP) programme.

Each team can have a minimum squad of 18 players and a maximum of 25. A total of 300 players across 12 franchises can participate in one season. 

Each franchise has a purse of INR 4.4 crore during the auction. The salary of a player is determined in the auction. 

The players’ auction has three categories - domestic, NYP and overseas. Domestic players are divided into 4 categories A (INR 30 lakh), B (INR 20 lakh), C (INR 10 lakh), and D (INR 6 lakh). It is mandatory for every franchisee to have at least two overseas players in their ranks. The maximum can go up to 4. 

The player’s auction has a ‘The Final Bid’ Match rule which allows franchises to match the final bid on a player who was previously released from their squad. 

As of now, raider Pawan Sehrawat is the most expensive player in PKL history. He was bought by Tamil Thalaivas for INR 2.26 crore in the season 9 auction held in Mumbai. Vikas Khandola (INR. 1.70 crore) is the second most expensive player. 

Pro Kabaddi League Viewership

The year-on-year viewership for the Pro Kabaddi League has made the model lucrative. In the inaugural season, the total viewership was 435 million, with the final between Jaipur Pink Panthers and U Mumba watched by 86.4 million viewers. 

The last edition of PKL saw a viewership of 222 million, which was up by 17.5% from the lacklustre season 8. 

The last five matches in the edition, which included the final and the playoffs, saw cumulative viewership of 66 million. The season saw large viewership from Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, while Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu recorded significant increase too.

The rise of PKL has given chance to many players from the rural part of India and make a name for themselves. 

Pro Kabaddi League Winners

Patna Pirates have been the most successful franchise in the PKL as they have won it thrice. Jaipur Pink Panthers, meanwhile, have clinched the trophy twice, while U Mumbai, Bengaluru Bulls, Bengal Warriors, and Dabang Delhi have won once each. 




Jaipur Pink Panthers



U Mumba



Patna Pirates



Patna Pirates



Patna Pirates



Bengaluru Bulls



Bengal Warriors



Dabang Delhi



Jaipur Pink Panthers

Pro Kabaddi League Prize Money

The cumulative prize money in PKL as of season 9 was INR 5.15 crore. It was distributed among the top six franchises of the league. Here’s how:

Winners: INR 3 crore
Runners up: INR 1.80 crore
Semi-Final losers: INR 90 lakh
Eliminatiors losers: INR 45 lakh