Dally M Medal Tips, Previews & Predictions

77 Showlhs N

Dally M Medal

The Dally M Medal is an annual award for the player voted for as the Player of the year in the National Rugby League (NRL) regular season.

The Dally M Medal was named after Henry Herbert 'Dally' Messenger, a pioneer of rugby league in Australia and important in the development of the sport.

The first official award for player of the year in Australian rugby league was the Rothmans Medal in 1968, sponsored by tobacco production company Rothmans, Benson & Hedges Inc.

One Rothmans Medal was awarded to the best player in the New South Wales and the other to the best player in the Brisbane Rugby League. The voting was done by the referees rather than the media.

The two Rothmans Medals were first awarded in 1968 and lasted until 1996. The Dally M Medal was established in 1980 by The Daily Mirror newspaper and was the second major individual award in the New South Wales Rugby League behind the Rothmans Medal. 

When the National Rugby League (NRL) was formed in 1998, the Dally M Medal became the official player of the year award for the competition.

The medal is usually awarded by the Australian Prime Minister at the Dally M awards night which is a special occasion on the rugby league calendar in Australia. 

Rugby league sports commentators vote after each game to award three votes to the best player, two votes to the second-best player, and one vote to the third-best player. 

The votes are made public up to Round 16 then kept secret which guarantees suspense and intrigue until the Dally M awards ceremony.

As well as the award for player of the year, the NRL acknowledges the best player in each position, best coach and the most outstanding rookie of the season.

If a player is suspended during the season, he loses three votes for each week of the suspension. 

Jonathan Thurston has won the most Dally M Medals with four gained during his time at the North Queensland Cowboys. Newcastle Knights legend Andrew Johns won three, with a host of players winning twice including Michael Potter, Peter Sterling, Gavin Miller, Cliff Lyons, Cameron Smith, Jarryd Hayne and Cooper Cronk. 

The most wins by a club is tied at five between the Parramatta Eels, North Queensland Cowboys and Melbourne Storm. 

Recent Dally M Medal Winners, Position and Club


2017Cameron SmithHookerMelbourne Storm
2016Cooper Cronk & Jason Taumalolo
Halfback / LockMelbourne Storm / North Queensland Cowboys
2015Jonathan ThurstonHalfbackNorth Queensland Cowboys
2014Jarryd Hayne / Jonathan ThurstonFullback / HalfbackParramatta Eels / North Queensland Cowboys
2013Cooper CronkHalfbackMelbourne Storm
2012Ben BarbaFullbackCanterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
2011Billy SlaterFullbackMelbourne Storm
2010Todd CarneyFive-eighthSydney Roosters
2009Jarryd HayneFullbackParramatta Eels
2008Matt OrfordHalfbackManly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Here at FreeTips.com we provide quality Dally M Medal tips. We have one mission at FreeTips.com, to provide you with free expertly researched Dally M Medal tips that you can use to find the winner and build your bankroll.

Rugby League Tips, Previews & Predictions