• Home
  • Rugby League
  • State of Origin

State of Origin to Head West in 2019

Last updated: 07 Sep 2021
Mat Marshall 07 Sep 2021
Share this article
Or copy link
State of Origin Game II to be played in Perth for the first time
State of Origin Game Two Perth 2019
New South Wales will defend their 2018 title against the Maroons when Game Two heads to Optus Stadium in Perth in 2019 (Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

State of Origin Game II Optus Stadium, Perth 2019

The 2018 State of Origin was one of the most exciting that we have had on record, if you are Blues fan of course. Under the guidance of Brad ‘Freddy, Fittler New South Wales were able to exorcize a few demons and record a 2-1 series win to end the Maroon dynasty. 

The Blues broke with tradition naming a record number of debutants to bring the Origin Shield back to Sydney. The Maroons were on the back foot before a ball was kicked in anger with leader Cameron Smith announcing his retirement from representative football, less than a month out from the opening game in Melbourne. Darius Boyd followed Smith into retirement soon after.

Queensland were well beaten in Game 1 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground with the Blues coming out on top 22-12. The Baby Blues boasted one of the quickest backlines in the NRL and proved to be too strong for a Queensland side missing stars through retirement and injury.

Game Two in Sydney broke with tradition, being played on a Sunday night instead of the usual midweek kick-off for an Origin fixture. The game provided two historical moments with a rare penalty try awarded to the Blues and James Roberts becoming one of the few players to be sent to the sin bin during the course of an Origin game. New South Wales were able to hang on to record a famous 18-14 victory and get their hands on the Origin Shield for only the second time in 12 years.

Queensland were able to restore some pride in Billy Slater’s final Origin match at Suncorp Stadium. The superstar fullback didn’t disappoint, leading the side as skipper for the first time as Queensland were able to win the final game 18-12, with Slater winning the Wally Lewis Medal as player of the series. 

The 2019 will see the NRL make further history with the concept, with the first game set to be played outside the Eastern seaboard of Australia since 1987. 
Perth with host the second State of Origin on June 23, 2019, with the game set to be played at the new Optus Stadium.  With the NRL floating the idea of expanding the competition outside of the traditional markets, WA will get a chance to experience one of the biggest sporting events in Australia. 

2018 State of Origin Series 

  • Game 1 - New South Wales 22 def Queensland 12 (Melbourne Cricket Ground)
  • Game 2 - New South Wales 18 def Queensland 14 (ANZ Stadium, Homebush)
  • Game 3 - Queensland 18 def New South Wales 12 (Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane)

2019 State of Origin Venues / Fixtures

  • Game 1: TBA May 2019, Australia, Kick-off to be announced
  • Game 2: 23rd June 2019, Optus Stadium, Perth, WA, Australia, Kick-off to be announced 
  • Game 3: TBA July 2019, Australia, to be announced

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

19 July 2024

  • Ninjas in Pyjamas vs JD Gaming -
  • Esports

20 July 2024

Load More