Bledisloe Cup Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

341 Showlhs N

Bledisloe Cup

The Bledisloe Cup remains a symbol of rugby union supremacy between traditional rivals Australia and New Zealand. The annual competition has been played between the two countries since the 1930’s, with the All Blacks dominating the contest. 

The winning side of the three match Test series retains possession of the Bledisloe Cup. The Bledisloe Cup was named after New Zealand’s Lord Bledisloe, who awarded the Cup to after the first Test match between Australia and New Zealand in 1931. The two sides have played for the Bledisloe Cup ever since that famous first match in New Zealand.

The series was originally played as a one off Test match between New Zealand and Australia from 1931 to 1981. As interest in the contest between the two sides grew, the series was expanded to two Tests. 

From 1982 to 2006 the series was originally a two match Test series, with a drawn series meaning that the holder retained the Cup. The introduction of a third match was done to satisfy rugby purist on both sides of the Tasman. 

With the introduction of the Rugby Championship in 2012, the Bledisloe Cup was expanded to three Test matches on an annual basis. Points from the first two Test Matches between the All Blacks of New Zealand and the Wallabies of Australia would count towards the standings in the Rugby Championship. The third Test Match between the two sides would be used as tie breaker to determine the winner of the Bledisloe Cup. 

The New Zealand All Blacks remain the benchmark in world rugby and have dominated the contest against Australia since 1931. New Zealand have won the trophy 47 times since 1931 and Australia have held the trophy 12 times. 

The longest winning streak between the two sides is held by New Zealand, who held onto the Bledisloe Cup for 28 years from 1951 to 1978. Australia’s best period against New Zealand was from 1998 to 2002. In 2018 the New Zealand All Blacks retained the Bledisloe Cup trophy for a sixteenth consecutive season, a new record with Australia last winning the trophy in 2003. 

Overall there have been 140 matches between Australia and New Zealand with the All Blacks winning 98, Wallabies 36 with six draws.

The series has only traveled three times outside of Australia and New Zealand with two Test matches being held in Hong Kong in 2008 and 2010. The 2008 Test Match was won by New Zealand 19-14 while Australia won the 2010 Test Match 26-24. The two sides contest a game in Tokyo in 2009 with New Zealand winning 32-19.

Recent Bledisloe Cup matches between Australia and New Zealand

5 AugustForsyth Barr Stadium, DunedinNew Zealand23-20Australia
29 July 2023MCG, MelbourneAustralia7-38New Zealand
24 September 2022Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand40-14Australia
15 September 2022Docklands Stadium, MelbourneAustralia37-39New Zealand
5 September 2021Perth Stadium, PerthAustralia21-38New Zealand
14 August 2021Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand57-22Australia
7 August 2021Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand33-25Australia
7 November 2020Lang Park, BrisbaneAustralia24-22New Zealand
31 October 2020Stadium Australia, SydneyAustralia5-43New Zealand
18 October 2020Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand27-7Australia
11 October 2020Sky Stadium, WellingtonNew Zealland16-16Australia
17 August 2019Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand36-0Australia
10 August 2019Optus Stadium, PerthAustralia47-26New Zealand
27 October 2018Nissan Stadium, Yokohama New Zealand37-20Australia
25 August 2018Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand40-12Australia
18 August 2018Stadium Australia, SydneyAustralia13-38New Zealand
21 October 2017Lang Park, BrisbaneAustralia23-18New Zealand
26 August 2017Forsyth Barr Stadium, DunedinNew Zealand35-29Australia
19 August 2017Stadium Australia, SydneyAustralia34-54New Zealand
22 October 2016Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand37-10Australia
27 August 2016 Westpac Stadium, WellingtonNew Zealand29-9Australia
20 August 2016Stadium Australia, SydneyAustralia8-42New Zealand
15 August 2015Eden Park, AucklandNew Zealand41-13Australia
8 August 2015Stadium Australia, SydneyAustralia27-19New Zealand

Here at we provide regular Bledisloe Cup Tips which include our Bledisloe Cup Outright Winner, handicap markets, first tryscorer tips, anytime tryscorer tips and game total tips.

At you will find expertly researched Bledisloe Cup tips that you can use to build your bankroll and win consistently in the Bledisloe Cup contest. 

Rugby Union Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips