Rugby Union World Cup Betting Tips, Free Bets & Betting Sites

341 Showlhs N

Latest Rugby Union World Cup News

The International Rugby Union World Cup is a men's professional tournament that is played every four years featuring 20 top international teams in Rugby Union. The Rugby World Cup falls under the jurisdiction of World Rugby, the sport’s governing body.

The winning team receives the prestigious Webb Ellis Cup, named after William Webb Ellis who is credited as inventing the game in 1823 while a pupil at Rugby School. 

The 2023 Rugby Union World Cup will be the 10th edition of the tournament. The 20 teams will be divided into four pools with the top two teams in each pool progressing to the knockout stages.

Rugby World Cup History

The inaugural tournament was held in 1987 and co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia with the New Zealand All Blacks emerging victorious. There had long been opposition by some unions within the International Rugby Football Board (now World Rugby) about the idea of a World Cup.

Since the first tournament however, the Rugby Union World Cup has been held every four years and become the pinnacle of World Rugby. Despite being one of the world's most established rugby nations, South Africa did not participate until 1995 after the apartheid regime had been dismantled.

Where is the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup being played?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup will be held in France. It will be the 10th edition of the Rugby World Cup, and the second time France have hosted the competition. 

When is the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup starts on 8 September 2023 with host nation France taking on New Zealand at the Stade de France. 

When is the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup Final?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup Final will be held on 28 October 2023 at the Stade de France

What teams will contest the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup?

There will be teams from 20 different nations taking part in the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup.

What are the Pools in the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup?

The 20 teams contesting the tournament are seeded and split between four pools. The nations in each pool are as follows:

Pool APool BPool CPool D
New ZealandSouth AfricaWalesEngland
UruguayAsia qualifierEurope qualifierSamoa
Africa qualifierEurope qualifierQualifierAmerica qualifier

Who has won the most Rugby Union World Cup titles?

New Zealand and South Africa have each won the Rugby World Cup on three occasions. 

New Zealand celebrate with the Webb Ellis Cup after winning the 2015 Rugby World Cup at Twickenham Stadium (Getty Images)

What happened at the 2019 Rugby Union World Cup?

South Africa became the first side to win the Rugby World Cup after losing a group stage game. They opened the campaign with a defeat to New Zealand but managed to reach the final where they beat England 32-12.

New Zealand were knocked out in the semi-final by England.

Who are the favourites to win the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup?

France are the favourites to win the 2019 Rugby Union World Cup. New Zealadn are placed second while England come in as third favourites. Surprisingly, South Africa are priced as fourth favourites to defend their title.

2023 Rugby Union World Cup Live Streaming

The 2023 Rugby Union World Cup is available to watch by live streaming on a number of different platforms depending on your country of residence.

The bet365 live streaming service is one of the best ways to watch live sport no matter where you are as long as you have a suitable internet connection. Bet365 live streaming can be done on your phone, tablet or computer and requires a funded account and/or bet placed 24 hours prior to game. 18+ and geo-restrictions apply, please see bet365 for full terms and conditions.

Who were the recent Rugby Union World Cup Hosts, Winners and Runners-up?

2019JapanSouth AfricaEngland
2015EnglandNew ZealandAustralia
2011New ZealandNew Zealand
2007FranceSouth Africa
1995South AfricaSouth Africa
New Zealand
1987Australia & New ZealandNew Zealand

What tips will you have for the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup?

At we will provide 2019 Rugby Union World Cup tips which include our best win bets, first tryscorer tips, anytime tryscorer tips, game total tips, Rugby League World Cup accumulator tips and Rugby World Cup outright tips.

Our mission at is to provide you with free expertly researched Rugby World Cup tips that you can use to consistently win your Rugby World Cup bets and build your bankroll.

When and where is the 2023 Rugby Union World Cup?

The 2023 Rugby Union World Cup will be held in France beween September and October 2023.

Rugby Union Betting Tips