Latest United Rugby Championship Tips

341 Showlhs N

United Rugby Championship Betting Tips

The United Rugby Championship, formerly known as the Pro14, has four South African sides in it. The 2023-24 season will see the third year since the expansion.

Five years ago the Cheetahs and Kings joined from South Africa, both of them have now been scrapped with the Stormers, Bulls, Sharks and Lions joining to make the United Rugby Championship. 

The 2023-24 United Rugby Championship competition is the 23rd season of the competition and the third to be referred to as the United Rugby Championship after the addition of four teams from South Africa. The most successful European teams in the United Rugby Championship qualify for the European Rugby Champions Cup.

United Rugby Championship FAQ

Where is the 2023-24 United Rugby Championship played?

The 2023-24 United Rugby Championship Rugby is played in Ireland, Italy, Scotland, South Africa and Wales.

When is the 2023-24 United Rugby Championship being played?

The 2023-24 United Rugby Championship starts in September 2022.

Who won the 2022-23 United Rugby Championship?

Munster beat the Stormers 19-14 in the 2022-23 United Rugby Championship final in Cape Town.

United Rugby Championship History

The Pro14 competition has roots in the Welsh-Scottish League that was established in 1999-2000 season when Edinburgh and Glasgow joined the Welsh Premier Division. In 2001 an agreement was made to include the four Irish provinces.

The 2001-02 season saw the competition named the Celtic League as it included teams from Ireland, Scotland and Wales. The Celtic League added two Italian teams at the start of the 2010-11 season (Benetton & Zebre), expanding the competition from 10 to 12 teams.

The Celtic League became known as Pro12 in 2011 to reflect the number of clubs in the competition. The sponsorship deal with Guinness commenced at the beginning of the 2014-15 season.

Two South African teams joined the league from the 2017-18 season (Cheetahs & Southern Kings), further expanding the competition which became known as Pro14 to reflect the number of competing clubs.

Four South African sides joined from the 2021-22 season onwards, with the two that were there losing out. The name has changed to the United Rugby Championship.

The Stormers then beat the Bulls in their first ever URC season as two South African sides made the final. The Cape Town-based outfit came close to defending their title in the 2022/23 season, losing out at home to Munster in the final.

United Rugby Championship Rugby Teams

The 16 clubs competing in the United Rugby Championship competition are as follows:

Benetton Italy  1932 2010 Treviso, Italy Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Cardiff Blues Wales  1876 2003 Cardiff, Wales Cardiff Arms Park
Stormers South Africa  1996 2021 Cape Town, South Africa Cape Town Stadium
Connacht Ireland  1885 2001 Galway, Ireland Galway Sportsgrounds
Dragons Wales  2003 2003 Newport, Wales Rodney Parade
Edinburgh Scotland  1872 2001 Edinburgh, Scotland Murrayfield Stadium
Glasgow Warriors Scotland  1872 2001 Glasgow, Scotland Scotstoun
Leinster Ireland  1879 2001 Dublin, Ireland RDS/Aviva Stadium
Munster Ireland  1879 2001 Limerick Thomond Park/Irish Independent Park
Ospreys Wales  2003 2003 Swansea, Wales Liberty Stadium
Scarlets Wales  1875 2003 Llanelli, Wales Parc y Scarlets
Sharks South Africa  1996 2021 Durban, South Africa Kings Park Stadium
Ulster Ireland  1879 2001 Belfast, Northern Ireland Ravenhill Stadium
Zebre Italy  1973 2012 Parma, Italy Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Bulls South Africa 1996 2021 Pretoria, South Africa Loftus Versfeld
Lions South Africa 1996 2021 Johannesburg, South Africa Emirates Airline Park

United Rugby Championship Results

Stay up to date with all the United Rugby Championship rugby results so you can get ahead of the game and start planning your betting strategy for the upcoming matches.

United Rugby Championship Winners and Runners-up

Ireland’s Leinster are the defending champions after winning the 2018-19 Pro14 Rugby competition.

2022-23 MunsterStormers 16
2021-22 StormersBulls 16
2020-21 Leinster Munster 14
2019-20 Postponed due to Covid N/A N/A
2018-19 Leinster Glasgow Warriors 14
2017-18 Leinster Scarlets 14
2016-17 Scarlets Munster 12
2015-16 Connacht Leinster 12
2014-15 Glasgow Warriors Munster 12
2013-14 Leinster Glasgow Warriors 12
2012-13 Leinster Ulster 12
2011-12 Ospreys Leinster 12
2010-11 Munster Leinster 12
2009-10 Ospreys Leinster 10
2008-09 Munster Edinburgh 10
2007-08 Leinster Cardiff Blues 10
2006-07 Ospreys Cardiff Blues 11
2005-06 Ulster Leinster 11
2004-05 Ospreys Munster 11
2003-04 Llanelli Scarlets Ulster 12
2002-03 Munster Neath 16
2001-02 Leinster Munster 15

Who has won the most United Rugby Championship competitions?

Ireland’s Leinster are the most successful club in Pro14 (now United Rugby Championship) after winning seven titles in 2002, 2008, 2013, 2014, 2018, 2019 and 2020. Wales’ Ospreys have won four and Munster three.

TeamTitlesYearsRunners-upYears Runners-up
Leinster 7 2001-02, 2007-08, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2017-18, 2018-19, 2020-21 5 2005-06, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2015-16
Ospreys 4 2004-05, 2006-07, 2009-10, 2011-12 0 n/a
Munster 4 2002-03, 2008-09, 2010-11, 22-23 5 2001-02, 2004-05, 2014-15, 2016-17
Scarlets 2 2003-04, 2016-17 1 2017-18
Ulster 1 2005-06 2 2003-04, 2012-13
Glasgow Warriors 1 2014-15 2 2013-14, 2018-19
Connacht 1 2015-16 0 n/a
Cardiff Blues 0 n/a 2 2006-07, 2007-08
Edinburgh 0 n/a 1 2008-09
Neath 0 n/a 1 2002-03
Stormers 1 2021-22 1

United Rugby Championship Fixtures

Get all the United Rugby Championship fixtures and plan ahead as teams prioritise games to qualify for the United Rugby Championship playoffs.

United Rugby Championship Rugby Grand Final

The United Rugby Championship Rugby Grand Final is the pinnacle of the United Rugby Championship season.

United Rugby Championship Betting Odds

All leading online bookmakers will be offering odds on the United Rugby Championship competition including United Rugby Championship outright winner and match odds including winner, handicap and total points.

United Rugby Championship Live Streaming

Take advantage of United Rugby Championship live streaming to watch the games on the go anywhere you can get a suitable internet connection. Watch United Rugby Championship live streams on your phone, tablet or computer.

The bet365 live streaming service is one of the best in the business and includes a number of sports including football, tennis, basketball, netball and horse racing. 18+ and geo-restrictions apply, see bet365 for full terms and conditions.

United Rugby Championship Free Bets

Sign up with a new bookmaker and open an account to take advantage of free bets.

United Rugby Championship Bet of the Day

Take time to analyse all the stats when selecting your United Rugby Championship bet of the day

United Rugby Championship News

Get all the latest United Rugby Championship news at the official United Rugby Championship website.

United Rugby Championship Social Media

Follow the United Rugby Championship on all the main social media platforms: