• Home
  • Snooker
  • Championship League Snooker

Championship League Snooker Winners & History

  • A guide to the previous winners and runners-up of the Championship League
  • The Championship League was first held in 2008
  • Guide to the recent champions
John Higgins
John Higgins (Getty Images)

The Championship League is the first ranking event of the season having first started in 2008.

Played across a unique group stage format of seven players in each group, 25 of the world's top players bid to qualify for the final group.

The final group is also played as a seven-played round robin format before semi-final and finals are played to determine the champion.

The 2021 Championship League will be the 16th edition of the tournament.

Judd Trump has won the most Championship League Snooker titles with three titles (2009, 2014, 2016). Martin Gould and John Higgins have both won two titles.

Championship League Snooker Winners, Runners-up & Final Score

2020 (2) Kyren Wilson Judd Trump 3-1 2020/21 Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes
2020 (1) Luca Brecel Ben Woollaston Round-robin 2020 Marshall Arena, Milton Keynes
2019/20 Scott Donaldson Graeme Dott 3–0 2019/20 Morningside Arena, Leicester
2019 Martin Gould Jack Lisowski 3–1 2018/19 Ricoh Arena and Barnsley Metrodome
2018 John Higgins Zhou Yuelong 3–2 2017/18 Ricoh Arena, Coventry
2017 John Higgins Ryan Day 3–0 2016/17 Ricoh Arena, Coventry
2016 Judd Trump Ronnie O'Sullivan 3–2 2015/16 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2015 Stuart Bingham Mark Davis 3–2 2014/15 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2014 Judd Trump Martin Gould 3–1 2013/14 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2013 Martin Gould Ali Carter 3–2 2012/13 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2012 Ding Junhui Judd Trump 3–1 2011/12 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2011 Matthew Stevens Shaun Murphy 3–1 2010/11 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2010 Marco Fu Mark Allen 3–2 2009/10 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2009 Judd Trump Mark Selby 3–2 2008/09 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex
2008 Joe Perry Mark Selby 3–1 2007/08 Crondon Park Golf Club, Essex


The Championship League began in 2008 with 25 snooker professionals taking part with no audience and every match is broadcast online on the internet. 

Players earned money for every frame won and there was prize money for being a semi-finalist, runner-up and winner of each group with more money available in the winners group.

In the first two years of the Championship League all matches in the group stages were the best of four frames with a draw possible. From 2010 all matches are best of five frames.

The winner of the Championship League snooker earned a place in the Premier League Snooker until 2012. Premier League Snooker was superseded by the Champion of Champions in 2013.

In 2020, two tournaments were held due to the coronavirus pandemic. The second of those saw a 128-player field line-up. For 2021, the Championship League returns to a 25-man tournament.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Upcoming Events

29 January 2021

17 March 2021

18 March 2021

19 March 2021