• Home
  • Snooker
  • European Masters

European Masters Snooker Winners & History

21 Feb 2022
Freetips staff 21 Feb 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • A guide to the previous winners and runners-up of the European Masters Winners Snooker
  • The European Masters Winners is taking place for the 23rd time in 2022
  • Guide to the recent champions
Mark Selby
Mark Selby is the most recent winner (Getty Images)

The European Snooker was first staged in 1989 and has become established as part of the World Snooker Tour.

John Parrott won the first two European Masters titles in 1989 and 1990. The event was held twice in 2020 with Neil Robertson and Mark Selby claiming victory.

European Masters Snooker Winners, Runners-up & Final Score

2020 (2) Mark Selby Martin Gould 9–8 England, Milton Keynes
2020 (1) Neil Robertson Zhou Yuelong 9–0 Austria, Dornbirn
2018 Jimmy Robertson Joe Perry 9–6 Belgium, Lommel
2017 Judd Trump Stuart Bingham 9–7 Belgium, Lommel
2016 Judd Trump Ronnie O'Sullivan 9–8 Romania, Bucharest
2008 Shaun Murphy Ken Doherty 9–3 Malta, Portomaso
2007 Shaun Murphy Ryan Day 9–4 Malta, Portomaso
2006 Ken Doherty John Higgins 9–8 Malta, Portomaso
2005 Stephen Hendry Graeme Dott 9–7 Malta, Portomaso
2004 Stephen Maguire Jimmy White 9–3 Malta, Portomaso
2003 Ronnie O'Sullivan Stephen Hendry 9–6 England, Torquay
2001 Stephen Hendry Joe Perry 9–2 Malta, Valletta
1998 Mark Williams Alan McManus 9–4 Ireland, Tallaght
1997 John Higgins John Parrott 9–5 Malta, Valletta
1996 John Parrott Peter Ebdon 9–7 Malta, Valletta
1994 Stephen Hendry John Parrott 9–3 Belgium, Antwerp
1993 Steve Davis Stephen Hendry 10–4 Belgium, Antwerp
1993 Stephen Hendry Ronnie O'Sullivan 9–5 Belgium, Antwerp
1992 Jimmy White Mark Johnston-Allen 9–3 Belgium, Tongeren
1991 Tony Jones Mark Johnston-Allen 9–7 Netherlands, Rotterdam
1990 John Parrott Stephen Hendry 10–6 France, Lyon
1989 John Parrott Terry Griffiths 9–8 France, Deauville


The European Masters began in the 1988/89 snooker season, the first ranking event outside the United Kingdom. 

The first European event was the European Open in 1989 in Deauville, France with the event held at the Palais des Sports in Lyon, France in 1990.

The tournament moved to Rotterdam, Netherlands in 1991 with the event moved to Belgium from 1992 to 1994. 

The European Masters has since been played in Malta, Ireland, Romania, England and Austria and most recently in Milton Keynes in England.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

22 September 2023

  • Friday's Listed Tips at Ayr and Newbury -
  • Horse Racing

23 September 2023

Load More