• Home
  • Snooker
  • Players Championship Snooker

Players Championship Winners List - Ronnie O'Sullivan & Judd Trump On Top

  • Ronnie O'Sullivan & Judd Trump have both won 2 Players Championships
  • The Players Championship snooker tournament began in 2011
  • John Higgins beat Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-3 in the 2021 final
Ronnie O'Sullivan Judd Trump
Ronnie O'Sullivan & Judd Trump have won two Players Championships (Getty Images)
John Eastwood 30 Mar 2021
Share this article
success image

Players Championship Snooker Winners

The first Players Championship was held in 2011 with Shaun Murphy beating Martin Gould in the final. The first eight tournaments were won by different players.

Ronnie O'Sullivan became the first multiple winner after lifting the title in 2018 and 2019. Judd Trump repeated the feat after winning in 2017 and 2020.

John Higgins is the defending champion after beating Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-3 in the 2021 final.

2022 tbc tbc tbc tbc tbc tbc
2021 John Higgins Scotland Ronnie O'Sullivan England  10-3 Milton Keynes
2020 Judd Trump England Yan Bingtao China 10-4 Southport, England
2019 Ronnie O'Sullivan England  Neil Robertson Australia  10-4 Preston, England
2018 Ronnie O'Sullivan England  Shaun Murphy England  10-4 Llandudno, Wales 
2017 Judd Trump England  Marco Fu Hong Kong 10-8 Llandudno, Wales 
2016 Mark Allen Northern Ireland  Ricky Walden England  10-6 Manchester, England 
2015 Joe Perry England  Wales Mark Williams Wales 4-3 Bangkok, Thailand 
2014 Barry Hawkins England  Gerard Greene Northern Ireland  4-0 Preston, England
2013 Ding Junhui China  Neil Robertson Australia  4-3 Galway, Republic of Ireland 
2012 Stephen Lee England  Neil Robertson Australia  4-0 Galway, Republic of Ireland 
2011 Shaun Murphy England  Martin Gould England  4-0 Dublin, Republic of Ireland 


The Players Tour Championship was established in 2010 with the first Players Tour Championship Finals held in March 2011 at The Helix in Dublin and won by Shaun Murphy. 

The Finals featured the top 24 players of the Order of Merit who played at least 6 events.

The tournament was moved to the Bailey Allen Hall in Galway in 2012 and was sponsored by Betfair. The event remained in Galway in 2013 when it was expanded to 32 players and sponsored by Dafabet.

The expanded 32 player field featured the top 25 players from the UK/European Order of Merit, the top four players from the Asian Order of Merit and the three APTC event winners.

In 2014 The Players Tour Championship moved to the Guild Hall in Preston, England. The 2015 event was held in Bangkok, Thailand and the 2016 Players Championship took place in Manchester, England.

The event was renamed the Players Championship in 2017 and contested between the top 16 players on a one-year ranking list. The 2017 Players Championship was heldh at the Venue Cymru in Llandudno, Wales where it was won by Judd Trump. 

The 2018 Ladbrokes Players Championship was also held in Llandudno with Ronnie O'Sullivan defeating Shaun Murphy 10-4 in the final. Ronnie O'Sullivan won his second successive Players Championship in 2019, defeating Neil Robertson 10-4 in the final held in Preston, England.

Judd Trump won the Players Championship for the second time in 2020 with a 10-4 win over Yan Bingtao in the final. 

It was the 16th ranking title of Trump's career and fifth ranking title of the snooker season. Trump equalled the record for the most ranking titles in a single season held jointly by Stephen Hendry, Ding Junhui, Mark Selby and Ronnie O'Sullivan.

Players Championship Winners FAQ

When did the Players Championship start?

The Players Championship began in 20011.

Who won the first Players Championship?

Shaun Murphy won the first Players Championship in 2011, beating Martin Gould 4-0 in the final.

Who has won the most Players Championships?

Ronnie O'Sullivan and Judd Trump have both won two Players Championships.

How many Players Championships has Ronnie O'Sullivan won?

Ronnie O'Sullivan has won two Players Championships (2003, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2013).

How many Players Championships has Judd Trump won?

Judd Trump has won two Players Championships (2017, 2020).

Who won the 2021 Players Championship?

John Higgins won the 2021 Players Championship, beating Ronnie O'Sullivan 10-3 in the final.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

09 May 2021

29 May 2021