• Home
  • Tennis
  • Chile Open

Chile Open Winners List - Fernando Gonzalez On Top

  • Fernando Gonzalez won 4 singles titles at the Chile Open
  • The Chilean is the only player to win the tournament more than once
  • Players from South America have dominated the Chile Open
  • The tournament began in 1993
  • Cristian Garín beat Facundo Bagnis in the 2021 final
garin bagnis
Cristian Garin won the 2021 Chile Open (Getty Images)
John Eastwood 31 Mar 2021
Share this article
success image

Chile Open Winners

Fernando González won four singles at the Chile Open, the only player to win the tournament more than once. The Santiago born player clearly thrived in his home tournament.

The first Chile Open was held in 1993 with Javier Frana beating Emilio Sánchez Vicario in the final.

Cristian Garín is the defending champion after beating Facundo Bagnis 6-4, 6-7, 7-5 in the 2021 final.

Players from Argentina have won seven titles, players from South America dominating the Chile Open after winning 16 of the 23 tournaments.

Final Score
2022 tbc tbc tbc tbc tbc
2021 Cristian Garín Chile Facundo Bagnis Argentina 6-4, 6-7(3-7), 7-5
2020 Thiago Seyboth Wild Brazil Casper Ruud Norway 7-5, 4-6, 6-3
2014 Fabio Fognini Italy Leonardo Mayer Argentina 6-2, 6-4
2013 Horacio Zeballos Argentina Rafael Nadal Spain 6-7(2-7), 7-6(8-6), 6-4
2012 Juan Mónaco Argentina Carlos Berlocq Argentina 6-3, 6-7, 6-1
2011 Tommy Robredo Spain Santiago Giraldo Colombia 6-2, 2-6, 7-6(7-5)
2010 Thomaz Bellucci Brazil Juan Mónaco Argentina 6-2, 0-6, 6-4
2009 Fernando González (4) Chile José Acasuso Argentina 6-1, 6-3
2008 Fernando González (3) Chile Juan Mónaco Argentina w/o
2007 Peru Luis Horna Peru Nicolás Massú Chile 7-5, 6-3
2006 José Acasuso Argentina Nicolás Massú Chile 6-4, 6-3
2005 Gastón Gaudio Argentina Fernando González Chile 6-3, 6-4
2004 Fernando González (2) Chile Gustavo Kuerten Brazil 6-4, 6-4
2003 David Sánchez Muñoz Spain Marcelo Ríos Chile 1-6, 6-3, 6-3
2002 Fernando González (1) Chile Nicolás Lapentti Ecuador 6-3, 6-7(5-7), 7-6(7-4)
2001 Guillermo Coria Argentina Gastón Gaudio Argentina 4-6, 6-2, 7-5
2000 Gustavo Kuerten Brazil Mariano Puerta Argentina 7-6(7-3), 6-3
1998 Francisco Clavet Spain Younes El Aynaoui Morocco 6-2, 6-4
1997 Julián Alonso Spain Marcelo Ríos Chile 6-2, 6-1
1996 Hernán Gumy Argentina Marcelo Ríos Chile 6-4, 7-5
1995 Slava Dosedel Czech Republic Marcelo Ríos Chile 7-6(7-3), 6-3
1994 Alberto Berasategui Spain Francisco Clavet Spain 6-3, 6-4
1993 Javier Frana Argentina Emilio Sánchez Vicario Spain 7-5, 3-6, 6-3

Multiple Winners

Fernando González is the only multiple winner at the Chile Open.

Fernando González 42002, 2004, 2008, 2009

Winners by Country

Players from South America have dominated the Chile Open, winning 16 of the 23 tournaments.

Argentina 7
Chile 5
Spain 5
Brazil 3
Peru 1
Italy 1
Czech Republic 1


The first edition of the Chile Open was held in Santiago in November 1993. Brazil had suspended its three ATP tournaments in 1992 but the ATP wanted to keep them in Latin America. 

The tournament was held in Santiago until 2000 with no tournament held in 1999 due to the ATP's decision to reschedule the tournament to February 2000. 

In 2001 the Chile Open moved to Viña del Mar where Chile's Fernando González won four titles in 2002, 2004, 2008 & 2009. The tournament moved back to Santiago in 2010 before returning to Viña del Mar in 2012.

The tournament stayed in Santiago until 2014 when the tournament was folded due to sponsorship difficulties. 

In October 2019 it was confirmed that the Chile Open would return to Santiago after six years. The tournament returned in 2020 with Brazil's Thiago Seyboth Wild winning his first ATP Tour title and becoming the first player born in 2000 to win an ATP Tour title.

Many top-ten tennis players have taken part at the Chile Open including Mats Wilander, Jim Courier, Carlos Moyà, Gustavo Kuerten, David Ferrer, Fernando Verdasco and Rafael Nadal.

Chile Open Winners FAQ

Who has won the most Chile Opens?

Fernando González has won the most Chile Open singles titles with four titles.

Who won the 2021 Chile Open?

Cristian Garín won the 2021 Chile Open, beating Facundo Bagnis 6-4, 6-7, 7-5 in the final.

When did the Chile Open start?

The Chile Open began in 1993.

Who won the first Chile Open?

Javier Frana won the first Chile Open in 1993, beating Emilio Sánchez Vicario 7-5, 3-6, 6-3 in the final.


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

19 January 2022

Load More