Fed Cup Tips, Previews & Predictions

Fed Cup

The Fed Cup is an annual international team competition in women's tennis. In terms of the number of nations that compete, the Fed Cup is the largest annual women's international team sports competition in the world.

The competition dates back to 1919 when Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman invented the idea of a women's team tennis competition. The first contest took place in 1923 between the United States and Great Britain and was named the Wightman Cup.

The competition took off in 1962 after Nell Hopman’s initial revival and Mary Hardwick Hare’s persistence in persuading the International Tennis Federation (ITF) to have a team championship played over one week in a different venue each year. 

Launched as the Federation Cup in 1963 to celebrate the ITF’s 35th anniversary, the competition was open to all nations and became a booming success.

Initially attracting 16 countries, the Federation Cup was dominated by the United States and Australia with Grand Slam champions and women’s tennis legends Darlene Hard, Billie Jean King, Margaret Smith and Lesley Turner representing their nations.

When sponsorship and prize money became available, the number of teams expanded with 73 nations competing in 1994. In 1995 the Federation Cup changed to a new format and was renamed the Fed Cup. 

Only 16 countries qualify for the World Group and World Group II each year. Each tie is contested in a best of five matches format and played across two days. On the first day there are two singles matches, with the reverse singles matches and the doubles match taking place on the following day. 

The World Croup quarter-finals take place in February in a home and away knock-out basis, the semi-finals in April with the final taking place in November.

The United States are the most successful nation in Fed Cup history, winning 18 titles with the Czech Republic (former Czechoslovakia) winning 10 titles followed by Australia with seven. 

The United States are the defending champions after beating Belarus in the 2017 final in Minsk.

The men's equivalent of the Fed Cup is the Davis Cup. The only countries to hold the Fed Cup and Davis Cup at the same time are Australia, the Czech Republic and the United States. 

Recent Fed Cup Champions, Runners-Up and Location

2017United StatesBelarusBelarus
2016Czech Republic
2015Czech Republic
RussiaCzech Republic
2014Czech Republic
GermanyCzech Republic
2012Czech RepublicSerbiaCzech Republic
2011Czech Republic
2010ItalyUnited StatesUnited States
2009ItalyUnited StatesItaly

Here at FreeTips.com we provide regular Fed Cup tennis tips which include our Bet of the Day, Daily Double Tennis Tips, Daily Treble Tennis Tips, Fed Cup Tennis Accumulator Tips and Davis Cup Outright Tips.

We have one mission at FreeTips.com, to provide you with free expertly researched Fed Cup tennis tips that you can use throughout the Fed Cup to help you have a successful tournament and build your bankroll.

Tennis Tips, Previews & Predictions

Load More