• Home
  • Tennis
  • WTA Madrid Open

WTA Madrid Open Winners List - Petra Kvitova on top in Spain

  • Petra Kvitova has won 3 singles titles at the Madrid Open
  • Simona Halep & Serena Williams have won twice
  • Halep has appeared in 4 finals
  • The WTA Madrid Open began in 2009
  • Aryna Sabalenka beat Ashleigh Barty in the 2021 final
Petra Kvitova Madrid
Petra Kvitova has won 3 singles titles at the Madrid Open (Getty Images)
John Eastwood 12 May 2021
Share this article
success image

WTA Madrid Open Winners

Petra Kvitova has won the most singles at the Madrid Open, winning three titles in 2011, 2015 and 2018. Serena Williams and Simona Halep have won twice.

The first WTA Madrid Open was held in 2009 with Dinara Safina beating Caroline Wozniacki in the final.

Aryna Sabalenka is the defending champion after beating Ashleigh Barty in the 2021 final. The tournament was not played in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Final Score
2022 tbc tbc tbc tbc tbc
2021 Aryna Sabalenka Belarus Ashleigh Barty Australia 6-0 3-6 6-4
2019 Kiki Bertens Netherlands  Simona Halep Romania  6-4, 6-4
2018 Petra Kvitova (3) Czech Republic  Kiki Bertens Netherlands  7-6, 4-6, 6-3
2017 Simona Halep (2) Romania  Kristina Mladenovic France  7-5, 6-7, 6-2
2016 Simona Halep Romania  Dominika Cibulkova Slovakia  6-2, 6-4
2015 Petra Kvitova (2) Czech Republic  Svetlana Kuznetsova Russia  6-1, 6-2
2014 Maria Sharapova Russia  Simona Halep Romania  1-6, 6-2, 6-3
2013 Serena Williams (2) United States  Maria Sharapova Russia  6-1, 6-4
2012 Serena Williams United States  Victoria Azarenka Belarus  6-1, 6-3
2011 Petra Kvitova Czech Republic  Victoria Azarenka Belarus  7-6, 6-4
2010 Aravane Rezaï France  Venus Williams United States  6-2, 7-5
2009 Dinara Safina Russia  Caroline Wozniacki Denmark  6-2, 6-4

Multiple Winners

There are three multiple winners at the WTA Madrid Open.

Petra Kvitova32011, 2015, 2018
Simona Halep22016, 2017
Serena Williams22012, 2013

Winners by Country

Czech Republic  3
Romania  2
Russia  2
Belarus 1
France 1
Netherlands 1


The WTA Madrid Open began in 2009 as a premier women's contest, replacing the tournament in Berlin.

In 2012 blue clay was used at the Madrid Open for the first and only time in professional tennis. After the event, threats of future boycotts from players including Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic led the tournament to return to the traditional red clay in 2013.

Serena Williams is the only female player to win the tournament on two different surfaces, blue clay (2012) and red clay (2013).

Starting in 2021, WTA Madrid expanded to become a two week tournament.

WTA Madrid Open Winners FAQ

When did the WTA Madrid Open start?

The WTA Madrid Open began in 2009.

Who has won the most WTA Madrid Opens?

Petra Kvitova has won the most WTA Madrid Open singles titles with three titles.

Who won the first WTA Madrid Open?

Dinara Safina won the first WTA Madrid Open in 2009, beating Caroline Wozniacki 6-2, 6-4 in the final.

Who won the 2019 WTA Madrid Open?

Kiki Bertens won the 2021 WTA Madrid Open, beating Simona Halep 6-4, 6-4 in the final. Netherlands 


Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

21 May 2021

  • Canada Ice Hockey World Championship Betting Special
  • -
  • Ice Hockey

24 May 2021

30 May 2021

  • Devin Haney vs Jorge Linares Live Stream
  • -
  • Boxing

05 June 2021

14 August 2021