Durban July Handicap Tips & 2019 Betting Predictions

DateSaturday July 6, 2019
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeHandicap
Prize moneyR4.25 million

The most prestigious race on the South African racing calendar, the Durban July Handicap is a race all South African trainers want to win. 

South Africa's premier race runs on the first Saturday in July at Greyville and is the most popular betting race in South Africa and is gaining popularity around the world.

Durban July Handicap betting selections & tips

Check out our expert Durban July Handicap tips for the 2019 edition. Also, claim up to ZAR 2000 in bonuses from

2019 Durban July Handicap betting card

There are 12 races on the card at Greyville, which gives punters plenty to bet on throughout the day in July.

Race Name
2018 Winner
R84 HandicapSilver Class
Mumm StakesHead Honcho
Grade 3 HandicapCrowd Pleaser
Gold VaseHermoso Mundo
Golden SlipperDesert Rhythm
Golden HorseshoePurple Diamond
Durban July HandicapDo It Again
R104 HandicapHorse Guards
Yearling Sale MillionAl Mariachi
Garden Province StakesBela-bela
Ethekwini StakesBishop's Bounty
Listed HandicapCopper Force

2019 Durban July Handicap odds

Below are the current antepost odds for the 2019 Durban July Handicap.

Rainbow Bridge5.00
Buffalo Bill Cody6.25
Do It Again7.14
Head Honcho16.70
Hero's Honour20.00
Twist Of Fate25.00
One World25.00
Made To Conquer25.00
Clouds Unfold25.00
Tilbury Fort25.00
Noble Secret25.00
Front And Centre33.30
Legal Eagle33.30
Undercover Agent33.30
Lady In Black40.00
Coral Fever40.00
Oh Susanna40.00
National Park40.00
Silver Maple50.00
Eyes Wide Open50.00
Magificent Seven50.00
Secret Potion66.70
Bunker Hunt66.70
Infamous Fox66.70
Dawn Assault66.70

Durban July Handicap history

The first running of the July Handicap was in 1897 and it was held on the first Saturday of July. 

Raced on turf, the Durban July Handicap is South Africa's best thoroughbred horse race and it has a long history of producing champion South African winners. 

It was originally run over 1600m but was changed to 2200m in 1970 when Court Day took out the Group 1 prize. 

World champion trainer Mike de Kock, who trained champion sprinter Rocket Man, has had good success in the July Handicap. 

De Kock has won four times with the likes of Ipi Tombe, Greys Inn and Igugu. The South African-born trainer doesn't hold the record for most wins, however, with Sydney C. Laird winning seven times. 

Terence M. Millard had an amazing stretch during the 1980's and 1990's, training six winners in a span of eight years. 

The most successful jockey is shared by four riders but Piere Strydom has had the most recent success, winning in 2016 with The Conglomerate for Australian-born trainer Joey Ramsden. 

There has been some international success with Colorado King winning in 1963. It would later win the Hollywood Gold Cup and set a world record for 1800m when winning the American Handicap. 

Ipi Tombe, trained by Mike de Kock, was the first horse bred in Zimbabwe to win at Churchill Downs in Kentucky.

Durban July Handicap betting guide

Three-year-old runners have a great success rate in the Durban July Handicap. 

60 percent of races run since 1998 have been won by three-year-olds and four-year-old runners also have a good strike rate. 

In a naturally open race, due to the handicap conditions, favourites haven't fared well in recent times. 

Only three favourites have won in the last 13 years and there has never been an odds-on winner of the Durban July Handicap, with the shortest-priced winner, Sea Cottage, paying 11/10 ($2.10) with bookmakers. 

There have been four back-to-back winners and 2017 winner Marinaresco is currently a 12/1 chance to add his name to the list. 

Wide draws were once considered a negative factor when handicapping the Durban July Handicap but 2012 winner Pomodoro left from barrier 20 and he was the seventh horse to win from the outside stall. 

Bookmakers always offer a wide-open betting field and that allows punters to lock up great each way value.

Durban July Handicap qualifying races

There are 10 automatic qualifying races for the Durban July Handicap and four races where the winner receives preferential consideration.

  • The L’Ormarins Queens Plate
  • South African Derby
  • The SunMet
  • Premier's Champions Challenge
  • Investec Cape Derby
  • Daily News 2000
  • Woolavington 2000
  • The SA Fillies' Classic
  • Rising Sun Gold Challenge

The following race gain the winner preferential consideration.

  • Sansui Summer Cup
  • Cup Trial
  • Betting World 1900
  • Jubilee Handicap

Past Durban July Handicap winners

Race Winner
2018Do It Again
2016The Conglomerate
2015Power King
2013Heavy Metal
2010Bold Silvano
2009Big City Life
2008Pocket Power/Dancers Daughter
2007Hunting Tower
2004Greys Inn
2002Ipi Tombe
2000El Picha
1999El Picha
1998Classic Flag
1997Super Quality
1996London News
1994Space Walk
1993Dancing Duel
1992Spanish Galliard
1991Flaming Rock
1989Right Prerogative
1988Royal Chalice