Portuguese Primeira Liga Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

Portuguese Primeira Liga Tips

The Primeira Liga is the top division in the Portuguese football league system. Contested by 18 teams that play each other home and away between August and May, the Primeira Liga was founded in 1934 as an experimental league before becoming official in 1938. 

Only five teams have ever won the Primeira Liga title and most of them by the "Big Three" of Portuguese football. Benfica have won 36 titles, Porto have won 28 times and Sporting CP have been victorious on 18 occasions. Belenenses (1945–46) and Boavista (2000–01) are the only teams to ever be crowned best team in Portugal. 

The Primeira Liga has increased its reputation in recent years with clubs performing well on the European stage. Porto won the 2003–04 UEFA Champions League and defeated fellow Portuguese side Braga in the 2010-11 UEFA Europa League final. Benfica lost consecutive Europa League finals in 2012-13 and 2013-14 with Sporting CP reaching the Europa League Quarter-Finals in 2017-18.

The Primeira Liga has been a nurturing ground and home to some of the best players in world football. James Rodriguez, Radamel Falcao, Hulk, Ederson, Alex Sandro and Angel Di Maria are just a few that learned their trade in Portugal, not to mention the likes of Nani and Cristiano Ronaldo. 

Recent Primeira Leiga Winners, Runners-Up and Third Place

Third Place

2017-18PortoBenficaSporting CP
2016-17BenficaPortoSporting CP
2015-16BenficaSporting CPPorto
2014-15BenficaPortoSporting CP
2013-14BenficaSporting CPPorto
2012-13PortoBenficaPacos de Ferreira
2010-11PortoBenficaSporting CP
2008-09Porto Sporting CPBenfica
2007-08PortoSporting CPVitoria de Guimaraes

Here at FreeTips.com we provide regular Portuguese Primeira Liga Football Tips which include our Primeira Liga Over/Under Goals Tips, Primeira Liga Accumulator Tips and Portuguese Primeira Liga competition winner.

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips