2022 FIFA World Cup Previews, Predictions and Betting Tips

2022 FIFA World Cup Tips

The FIFA World Cup is the biggest sporting event on the planet, with the very best footballing nations coming together every four years to compete to be crowned World Champions. 

The football World Cup is the most widely viewed sporting event in the world with the cumulative audience exceeding the Olympic Games. It is estimated that more than one billion fans tuned in to watch the 2014 World Cup final alone.

There have been 21 World Cups that have won by eight national teams. Brazil are the most successful with five victories and are the only team to have played in every tournament. Italy and Germany have won four titles each with Argentina, Uruguay and France winning twice. England and Spain have won one World Cup each.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup was a tremendous success in Russia with France defeating Croatia 4-2 in a thrilling final. England and Belgium got to the semi-finals but defending champions Germany were the latest holders to crash out in the group stage.

France celebrate with the FIFA World Cup trophy after winning the 2018 tournament in Russia (AFP/Getty Images).

We look ahead to the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar which will be the 22nd edition of the tournament. It will be the first World Cup to be held in the Arab world and the first in a Muslim-majority country. 

The 2022 World Cup will be the last to involve 32 teams before the tournament increases to 48 teams for the 2026 World Cup. The 2026 World Cup will be jointly hosted by 16 cities in the United States, Canada and Mexico. 

Due to the extreme heat in Qatar during summer and safety concerns regarding players and supporters, the 2022 World Cup will be the first World Cup not to be held in May, June, or July.

The tournament is scheduled for late November until mid-December which will disrupt the major domestic leagues around the world. It will be played in a reduced timeframe of approximately 28 days with the final scheduled to be held on 18 December 2022.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup was awarded to Qatar amidst accusations of corruption under former boss Sepp Blatter. There is little doubt that money laundering and shady deals were involved in the bidding process in an organisation that refuses to be transparent.

Qatar has also faced criticism due to the treatment of foreign workers who are routinely exploited. Amnesty International has stated that workers have been suffering human rights abuses despite promises from Qatar to fix the situation.

All 211 FIFA member associations are eligible to enter qualification for the 2022 World Cup. Qatar, as hosts, qualify automatically for the tournament. For the first time after the initial two World Cups 1930 and 1934, the tournament will be hosted by a country whose national team has never played in the competition.

The same allocation as 2006 has been kept for the 2010, 2014, 2018 and 2022 World Cups and is as follows, with the qualifying draw taking place in July 2019:

  • CAF (Africa): 5
  • AFC (Asia): 4.5 (not including host nation)
  • UEFA (Europe): 13
  • CONCACAF (North and Central America and Caribbean): 3.5
  • OFC (Oceania): 0.5
  • CONMEBOL (South America): 4.5
World Cup Hosts, Winners and Runners-up


South Africa
2002South Korea & JapanBrazilGermany
United StatesBrazilItaly
1990ItalyWest GermanyArgentina
1986MexicoArgentinaWest Germany
1982SpainItalyWest Germany
1974West GermanyWest GermanyNetherlands
1966EnglandEnglandWest Germany
1954SwitzerlandWest GermanyHungary

At FreeTips.com we will have 2022 FIFA World Cup Tips throughout the qualifying campaigns and the tournament in Qatar. Our 2022 FIFA World Cup bets will include our World Cup Bet of the Day, World Cup Score/Win doubles, 2022 FIFA World Cup Accumulator Tips and Outright Tips including Group bets such as Group Winner and to Finish Bottom of the Group.