UEFA Champions League Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips

UEFA Champions League Tips

The UEFA Champions League s an annual continental club football competition that is organised by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). It is the biggest, most watched and most prestigious club football tournament in the world. 

Formerly known as the European Cup, the Champions League features the best teams in Europe who battle it out for the most prized trophy in club football. The UEFA Champions League final is one of the most watched annual sporting events in the world with the 2012-13 final drawing 360 million television viewers.

The competition replaced the European Champion Clubs' Cup or European Cup in 1992. The UEFA Champions League begins in late June with four knockout qualifying rounds and a play-off round. The six playoff winners joining 26 teams in the group stage.

The 32 teams are drawn into eight groups of four teams that play against each other home and away. The eight group winners and runners-up proceed to the knockout phase that culminates with the final match in May. The winner of the UEFA Champions League qualifies for the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup.

Spanish teams have dominated the competition with 18 victories. Clubs from England and Italy have 12 wins apiece and England has the highest amount of winning teams with five different clubs winning the title. 

Spanish teams have dominated the competition in recent seasons. Real Madrid are the reigning champions after securing their 13th title after defeating Liverpool 3–1 in the 2018 final. Real Madrid became the first team in the UEFA Champions League era to win the title for three years in a row and are the most successful club in the competition having won 13 titles. 

Real Madrid have won four of the last five competitions and Barcelona have won three of the past ten UEFA Champions League titles. Powerhouse clubs such as Bayern Munich, Paris St Germain and Manchester City all have the money and aspirations to end the Spanish dominance, will it happen in 2019?

Recent Champions League Winners and Runners-up

Winning Nation

2017-18SpainReal MadridLiverpool
2016-17SpainReal MadridJuventus
2015-16SpainReal MadridAtletico Madrid
2013-14SpainReal MadridAtletico Madrid
2012-13GermanyBayern MunichBorussia Dortmund
2011-12EnglandChelseaBayern Munich
2010-11SpainBarcelonaManchester United
2009-10ItalyInternazionaleBayern Munich
2008-09SpainBarcelonaManchester United
2007-08EnglandManchester UnitedChelsea

We love the UEFA Champions League at FreeTips.com and comprehensively cover the competition including UEFA Champions League Handicap tips, UEFA Champions League Anytime Goalscorer tips and our outright UEFA Champions League / futures tips for the competition winner to help you build your bankroll.

Football Previews, Predictions & Betting Tips