State of Origin Tips & Predictions

77 Showlhs N

State of Origin Betting Tips

The State of Origin is an annual best-of-three series in the Australian Rugby League between the New South Wales Blues and the Queensland Maroons. 

Considered the pinnacle of rugby league and more important than international games, State of Origin is one of Australia’s premier sporting events with huge television audiences and sold out stadiums.

Get our expert State of Origin tips, previews and predictions throughout the series each year, including tryscorer tips, total match points, margin tips and series best bets.

Bonus Bets

  • Get
    Bonus Code
    Available to new customers only. Make a qualifying deposit of £5 or more and claim the offer within 30 days of registering your account to qualify for 300% of that amount in Bet Credits, up to a maximum of £30 in Bet Credits. Once released, your Bet Credits will be held in your account balance and are non-withdrawable. Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Registration required. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Bet
    Double the Odds
    Maximum stake is £10. Exclusive to new members. Keep it fun – set your deposit limit. T&Cs apply. 18 Plus.
  • Deposit £10
    Get £60 Play
    Bonus Code
    18+. Matched Deposit & £60 Free Play for new UK players only, min deposit £10. Free Play given in tickets over 6 days. Matched Deposit max $600 - withdrawal restrictions & play through requirements apply. Full T&Cs Apply. Please play responsibly.
  • £30
    Free bet
    Use code
    Claim £30 free bet & 20 Free Spins. Use the promo code NEWBONUS. New Hollywoodbets account holders. 18 years or older. United Kingdom residents only. T&Cs apply.
  • Free Bet Refund
    Join betgoodwin with promo code NEWBONUS and get access to their £100 Free Bet Refunds offer. 18+ only. T&Cs apply.

2021 State of Origin Dates & Schedule

State of Origin will take place across June and July once again in 2021 as the series returns to its traditional slot.

The traditional three-game series fought out between fierce rivals New South Wales and Queensland brings together the best players in NRL, fighting for bragging rights and a place in the history of the game.

Queensland are the holders of the shield having won the 2020 State of Origin series 2-1.

Game 1Wednesday, June 9Queensland vs New South WalesQueensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville
Game 2Sunday, June 27Queensland vs New South WalesSuncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Game 3Wednesday, July 14New South Wales vs QueenslandANZ Stadium, Sydney

State of Origin Betting Options

State of Origin games will typically have hundreds of separate markets to choose from for each game. Like most NRL games, head-to-head and margin betting is the most popular, but player markets like first try scorer and man of the match are also a common.

Here are some State of Origin bet types:

Series Winner: As simple as it gets. Do you think the Origin series will be won by New South Wales or Queensland.

Series Correct Score: In this market, you are betting on the final score of the series. Will either side win 2-1 or 3-0? You can increase the odds on the series winner market, by having a go at the correct score.

Head-to-Head: You pick the winner of a each of the three games in the series. You win the head-to-head bet, it’s as simple as that. The longer the odds in a H2H market, the less chance the bookmaker thinks the team has of winning.

Line: Line betting gives punters the opportunity to bet on a game that bookmakers have handicapped to create a more even contest. How does a line bet work? Here’s an example: 

Queensland -6.5 vs. New South Wales +6.5. 

The lines given above mean that bookmakers believe Queensland is 6 points better than New South Wales before the start of the game. So, if you gamble on NSW at +6.5, as long as they don’t lose by 7 points or more, you’ll win the bet.

The odds on a line bet will start at $1.90 or $1.91 for both teams, but can come in if punters bet heavily on either side of the ledger.

Margin: Margin betting provides punters with the opportunity to not only pick a winner, but also the margin of that victory.

First Tryscorer: If punters can select the first player to score a try in a game, there’s some handy odds on offer. With 13 players taking the field for each team, there are 26 opportunities to bet on. It pays to do your homework and see who does the most scoring for each side, especially early in the game, but there are some big odds on offer for the guys who sneak under the radar.

State of Origin Live Streaming

If you can’t get in front of a TV to watch the State of Origin game, you’ll still be able to watch the game on your smart phone with a number of live streaming options. Check out our live streaming hub for more information.

State of Origin FAQs

What is State of Origin?

State of Origin is a three-match rugby league series played between Queensland and New South Wales annually.

When is the 2021 State of Origin series taking place?

State of Origin will take place across June and July once again in 2021 as the series returns to its traditional slot.

Who is the reigning State of Origin champions?

Queensland are the holders of the shield having won the 2020 State of Origin series 2-1.

How can I live stream the 2021 State of Origin series?

Check out our live streaming hub to see how you can view the State of Origin series.